Sunday Funday - Wild Horses

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

WHCR01.jpg

I am not sure how many of you who are like me, but I am a sucker for animals. There is a special place in my heart for them (except cats, I can't seem to like them, sorry cat lovers), especially ones that have been abused, given up, or wild. I believe they are highly intelligent and have the love and loyalty that surpasses all humans.

A couple of months ago we moved to a new neighborhood that used to be ranch area, but became a housing development. There are still some ranches and a couple fields around and we have seen some wild horses roaming around occasionally.

Of course having the soft heart that I do I instantly wanted to approach them to see if I could give them some carrots or apples. It is obvious they are on their own and don't get enough food. It breaks my heart. If I had property I would take them in. There have been a few opportunities to meet some of them.

Today we were able to give this mama and her baby some carrots, apples and water. These two are different from some of the others we have seen. It doesn't seem like they have ever been owned by anyone. It was obvious the minute we started to give them the carrots. We could tell because they weren't sure how to chew them. However, once they got a hold of one they were coming after us for more! It was such a satisfying moment for me. I've never had the chance to be so close to horses before, but I love every chance I get to help them. They make me smile and laugh.

WHCR21.jpg

This is the baby. She had a hard time chewing the large end of the carrot, so I had to break off the smaller end. The apple was a bit easier for her to chew and I could tell she loved it. Just imagine what they were thinking. They had never had a carrot or apple before.

When I saw these next few photographs after we returned home I knew I had to share them with you. They crack me up. We had just finished feeding them and went to the other side of the fence. We still had some water left and were giving it to them and saying goodbye. These are some fantastic face shots of the baby. The conversation went something like this:

WHCR7.jpg

Well, hello there... thanks for the tasty treats. Know any jokes?

WHCR3.jpg

Ooh, I can't wait. This is gonna be good.

WHCR5.jpg

Hahahahahaha!

WHCR1.jpg

You're so silly. You made my day!

I absolutely love the capture of her tongue sticking out!

I think they would have followed us home had we let them. I can't wait to see them again and I know they well be waiting for the carrots, apples, and water. It was a great part of my Sunday and I hope you enjoyed it as well.

Cheers,

@atalaya

(original photos taken on Samsung Galaxy S7)

Sort:  

A lovely story. Animals can give us so much in love, laughter and peace just spending time with them. I found your story very touching.

Thank you @trudeehunter! I appreciate the comment and I am glad you found the story touching. They always seem to brighten my day if I am around them. Being able to help them reminds me to take a step back and enjoy the moment. They need us and we need them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26