Behind Every Photograph is a Story

in #photography5 years ago

Luke4.jpg

Welcome back friends! Before I share my story behind this photograph I would like to thank all of you who welcomed me to the platform, gave me tips, and helpful advice on being successful here. I know it takes some time to establish yourself here and I appreciate any help that is offered.

As I mentioned in my opening post, I have always enjoyed taking pictures. I love to capture moments in time. When I first started taking pictures, it was with film cameras and as you know there is a good amount of time in between the taking of the picture to the actual seeing of it. The minute I was finished with a roll or two of film I would beg my mom to take me to drop it off to be developed. As soon as I did, the anticipation began. What did I capture and will it look the way I remembered it? The dreaded question was, “will they turn out?”

Then the day of picking up my photos would arrive. The minute I was handed the package I would start sifting through. All the same emotions I had when I took them would come flooding back to me and I was taken back to that moment in time. This is the main reason why I love photography.

When I would look through my pictures I would remember the feeling of disappointment if any hadn’t turned out. Maybe there was a glare, or someone with red eye, or overexposure. The list can go on and on. However, all the disappointment would fade away the minute I would see a photo that I thought was a perfect capture.

Those photographs were the ones that kept a camera in my hand. Whether the pictures I took caught the eye of anyone else never mattered to me because of the joy I had in doing it. At some point though, I wondered if I had an eye for photography or not. Of course, family and friends would encourage me and tell me that I did, but isn’t that what they’re supposed to do?

The picture above validated to me; I did indeed have an eye for photography. It is a classic of being in the right place at the right time. I had recently purchased my first serious camera, a Nikon F75 SLR. It was 35mm and I couldn’t wait to start snapping away. The graininess of film is a favorite feature of mine to this day.

That camera was like my sidekick. It went everywhere with me. Surprisingly, I still own it. The day I captured the picture of Luke above I had just arrived at my mom’s house. Luke was behind the wooden gate pictured in the photo. As I stepped out of the driver’s side of my car and walked around to make my way towards the gate I looked up and knew the moment would pass all to fast. I turned around as fast as I could, grabbed my camera out of my car, and dropped to the ground. I was literally laying flat on my stomach with my chin touching the cement as he stared at me. I just kept clicking away.

As usual I headed to Kinko’s, dropped the roll of film off and waited. A few days later I went to pick up my pictures. The older gentleman who always helped me handed them over. I didn’t wait long before I opened them up. A huge smile crept across my face when I saw the photograph above. It was just as I remembered. Well, the man helping me saw them and started up a conversation. He told me that I should enter the picture into the Salt Lake County Fair. I was taken aback by the suggestion. I thought he was joking, but he was serious. I had never thought of entering a contest.

Although hesitant, I decided to give it a shot. He helped me with everything from what category to enter it in, to the size it had to be, as well as whether or not it should be glossy or matte. To enter your photographs they had to be mounted a certain way and there wasn’t time for me to send it in and get it back in time. I didn’t have the first clue how to do it myself. This wonderful man told me he could do it for me. At that moment, I realized he really was serious about this photograph having a chance to win. So I followed his advice and entered.

The Salt Lake County Fair is a local fair that happens every September at the state fairgrounds in Utah. They have many different events and contests. As a child I went with my family every year. This particular year would be different though. I had something on display. My mom, as most moms would, wanted to accompany me to the fair because she was sure I had won. We entered the building where the photographs were on display. We started walking up and down the aisles looking. I wasn’t expecting much, especially after seeing the countless amazing pictures. We came to the amateur photography section. At that point we separated to search.

Then I saw it, my photograph. I just stared. Then I noticed it. There was a blue ribbon hanging from the side. I stood there with my mouth open in shock. I had won 1st place. Words can’t describe how I felt. Very few moments in my life have left me feeling the way I felt that day.

1st place.JPG

That moment was the moment I felt the validation I needed to pursue my passion. Have there been roadblocks and challenges? Yes, that’s life. But every time I look at this picture and remember that day I am reminded of this quote:

Screen shot 2019-07-26 at 7.50.07 PM.png

Enjoy your evening and be on the lookout for more to come! Don't hesitate to leave me your thoughts on my photographs. I appreciate the feedback.

Cheers,

atalaya :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @atalaya! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25