FEMALE SELF EXPRESSION - SUZAN ALBERTS X ASHLEY KALILA (COMPLETE)

in #photography7 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2017-11-29 at 16.13.02.jpeg

Look I am going to be honest here.
I can be sexy. I can look good.
And I know that when I put out photos of myself online that are deemed sexy and beautiful, I get lovely reactions.
But is this making an impact? Is this bringing a message?
Not really.
So to me, it’s not interesting. (anymore). I used to find this digital attention very alluring and would be busy with it.
But now I give less fucks about the online likes and comments.
Sexy photos are not going to make the world a better fucking place.
Pieces that show the rawness, express the intrinsic relationships that we have developed here on a myriad of different levels and depictions of the ugly chaos that signifies where we are at right now.

WhatsApp Image 2017-11-29 at 16.13.02 (2).jpeg

The collective suppression of my expression will be halted right in its tracks.
From here on out, my voice will be heard and I will be seen.
By the shere will of my creative outlet that cannot be stopped anymore.
It is here to stay.
It is here to speak.
It is here to create.
It is here to bring forth the ideas I have been hiding in my heart and to surrender to it.

WhatsApp Image 2017-11-29 at 16.13.02 (1).jpeg

The pressure to be ‘perfect’ in every way is interwoven into every fabric of our society.
But why? What is it about being perfect that has captured the imagination of everyone and has plummeted us into a place where mistakes and flaws are seen as un-perfect and ‘bad’?
No more.
Allow the masker of perfection to drop and dive into the perfection of your unperfection.
Where you are allowed to just BE.
Show the realest you in which everything is there.
And nothing is hidden.
There lies beauty in showing the flaws.
There lies our power.
There lies our essence.


Written by @ashleykalila
Photography by @suzanalberts

Sort:  

Someone call the Zombie squad.... Ashley has been bit! The last picture proves it.

Hahahahahahahaha!

HAHA love this

Hahaha that last pic!!! Super sexy!

I do love the rawness of the pictures. Do you know what camera she used? :)

No idea :)

But you can ask her yourself @suzanalberts hehe

I used the Canon 6D Mark 2 :) with a 50mm Lens!

Absolutely. I took a break from musical performances for a long time because a lot of the venues and organizers treated me as a product. I know that society now is all about "selling yourself" but I just don't see it fulfilling me in any lasting way. As my wallet grows, so will the black hole inside of me. I'd rather plant seeds and focus my attention on being the best I can be As those seeds grow into sustainability and abundance for myself and hopefully others as well.

Although I am a near perfect specimen of male meat, I also refrain from posting sexy pictures ;-)

Hehe.
Yes. I've really noticed the difference in 'attention' when posting these kind of pics.
I like this A LOT more.
People pay attention to it properly instead of just seeing a woman, they see a mind that thinks and has ideas and has something to say.
It's pretty amazing really.
And I'd much rather be seen like that then just some piece of meat.

What projects are working on at the moment? :)

I mentioned a few when we were chatting but just in case anyone else is looking...

My focus right now is on working on this collection of short stories that explore the lines between different realities, to sound mysterious. I may post a page from a new story on steemit but usually those posts don't get many views here so my stories are slowly going up at Patreon (pay-what-you-want). I've been thinking about ways to collaborate with other artists in some way as well.

I have a collection of folk songs that aren't yet psychedelic enough for my liking so I'm trying to improve at guitar and after I buy a mic I'll learn how to record. Gearing up to perform again, I want my performances to be circles and not pyramids where I'm at the top.

We had a studio/community space but we ran out of money to keep it going before it become self-sustainable. I am still really active in some community spaces in nearby cities though.

As far as steemit.... Be Awesome Chat, Deadpost Initiative and I just retired my self-help bullshit in favor of more randomness.

I really just want us to be able to form more natural relationships and trust each other and make shit happen together without having to compromise vision or principles so much and stronger and freer communities are the answers!

I would love to be a kind of "life coach" for certain people as well but I haven't come up with a way to do this that doesn't feel too pretentious or carry too many expectations for me.

I will probably repeat this all in my humans of steem!

I really just want us to be able to form more natural relationships and trust each other and make shit happen together without having to compromise vision or principles so much and stronger and freer communities are the answers!

YES YES DAMN YES!!!!

<3

I like em :3 It must take lots of guts to take those kind of pictures! :)

Honestly, taking the pics wasn't bad but putting them online was a lil scary.
Somehow I did fear what people were going to think but in the end, all I have heard are positive things.
I am sure that there are people who don't like them or think I am weird for posting such photos online, but that's not my issue is it? :)

Yeah it's not x) Fuck the haters haha

Here! Here!🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🌈🌈🌈🌈🎸🎸🎸⚡️⚡️⚡️

hihi thank you my dear! :)

It's the beginning of my new endeavour :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68