Worlds Biggest Pineapple, Righ Next to the Banana Plantation

in #photography8 years ago

While I was in the Philippines on the southern island of Mindanao I had the opportunity to figure out where some of the bananas that I eat all the time in the U.S. are grown. I was on my way with my fiance to the amusement park, that they have a hour or so outside of Cagayan De Oro when the city started to give way to farm lands.
Here I am.

On one of these particular plots started a huge banana plantation. Not just bananas but Pineapples, Mangos, and all sorts of other tropical fruits. She started to tell me more about the plantation since she is a native there in the PH and she asked me if i wanted to see a pineapple bigger then I was.
Here is my fiance

Naturally I said of course thinking how in the world could there be a pineapple bigger then me. To my excitement, It was bigger then I, but also to my sadness it was just a statue.

Next to it however I did come to notice that the brand of bananas that I had been eating since I was a kid, was actually the plot of land that had this giant pineapple on it. Del Monte bananas are sold all across the U.S. and the world. Who knew that this plantation on the way to our day trip would be something so far from home but yet hit so close to home.

All in all it was a very neat experience to see some more of a country that most tourists wouldn't have the opportunity for all thanks to my sweetheart.

Sort:  

haha..... I was expecting to see how big a real pineapple can be. still... a good short story.

Lol I was too, but i found this rather cool regardless. Thanks for the vote and comment haha.

you're welome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51