Camiguin an Island of Paradise

in #photography8 years ago

Recently I had the opportunity to do some traveling in the orient, and with my fiance being a native, I was able to to enjoy some of the lesser known areas of the world.

On my adventure I visited this little island in the middle of the Philippines chain called Camiguin. From afar it looks like an island that might be lost to mankind, or might be the dwelling place of some creature or a dragon or two.

Breath taking beauty. This island has five volcanoes that make up the island creating a network of hot springs and interesting natural phenomena. One of my personal favorites from when the island was more populated, and controlled by the Spanish, is a area that is known as the sunken cemetery. They had created a grave site and unbeknownst to them there was a volcanic crater underneath that sunk the cemetery (hence the name) in to the ocean about 20 feet, creating a pocket of grave stones and a reef right underneath the clear blue water. The amazing odds that it would sink the graves in to the water but yet keep the cross above the water created a very beautiful place that I will remember for the rest of my life.

We enjoyed one of our days by taking a tour of the island. This took most of the day and we saw a few waterfalls and visited the many hot and cold springs that populated the island. One of my personal favorites had these fish that were in the pools. Tiny little guys that were no bigger then a pinky finger at the biggest, fed off of the dead skin of your body. I dipped my feet in the pool and held very still and watched as they went to town doing their thing tickling my feet with their little mouths. I have not had a manicure before but I do know my feet came out soft and smooth and all of my many rough calluses had been removed by these fish. My fiance however after seeing them nibble on my feet refused to get in.

I had a very good time on this island and I would personally recommend it to anyone looking to spend a week relaxing on black or white beaches, swimming in springs, hiking and visiting nature or other various island resort typicals.
Here are some of the other pictures of spots that I am rather fond of on the island.

#Photography#History#travel#journey#nature#inspiration

Sort:  

I upvoted You

Thanks!!!! i took a lot of pictures on my trip and look forward to adding them to my collection with some more posts about my adventures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64506.46
ETH 3417.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50