I won my first photo contest with this photo..steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

what are your thoughts on this?

Imagine, I posted this in a German photography group on fb and I got insulted by like 90-95% of the members and they even removed me from the group just for this. A few days I posted it in an American photography group, it was like 50% found the photo great and the other half were kinda shocked or said didn't find it really good. However, if I would have listened to these people, I would have probably deleted the photo and so would have never won this contest. This is a great example of: Stand up for what you believe in and don't give too much fuck about what other people think of you, otherwise you will never success.

alan bw.jpg
16722615_1904479626451521_140169492260072878_o.jpg

Sort:  

The photographs does what it supposed to do, shock and engage. The people insulting you are in the wrong here. This photographs is a great leap to having a conversation that is absent in America short of fights in political circles it seems. I know people who were raised around guns from infancy an are fine and I know and know of adults who should NEVER be allowed to handle a firearm let alone own one! My father spoke to my sisters and I about his guns and we knew NEVER to touch them-they were not toys, plus the rifles were capped/neutralized. The simple fact is, some children this age are well trained in firearms because their family hunts, so it is part of their upbringing.
The story within the photograph should be discussed, the photographer should not be ostracized.

Thanks a lot for this very statement! :)

very intelligent statement*

You deserve it. Its a great pic!

Thank you very much, my friend! :) Imagine, I posted this in a German photography group on fb and I got insult by like 90-95% of the members and they even removed me from the group just for this. A few days I posted it in an American photography group, it was like 50% found the photo great and the other half were kinda shocked or said didn't find it really good. However, if I would have listened to these people, I would have probably deleted the photo and so would have never won this contest. This is a great example of: Stand up for what you believe in and don't give too much fuck about what other people think of you, otherwise you will never success.

This is sad isnt it? You are the one who took this picture. The one who paint the picture. Only the artist completely understands what he means and what he wants to tell the world. It's sad that people judge way too fast without getting in the head of the artists.
I can tell you if I like a picture or not... but to insult someone...
Just keep it up mate. Do your thing!
I am glad that the jury of this contest did understand that and honoured you for that.

Thank you very much, my friend. You understand art, and this is what photography is somewhere, cause it's basically painting with light(this is actually what the word also means). :) Anyway, I guess the people who acted in the group are a good example of pseudo photographers/artists and embarrassingly stupid polictical correctness.

upvoted&followed, look at my photos :)

thx, following back and voted some shots of you. Nice shots btw!

Congratulations @artenthusiast! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34