My Home~ Old Treasures That Are New To Me

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_6403.JPG
I woke up early this morning to transform a sidetable my son found for me that someone was giving away. I am big on repurposing, on making old things new again. When I lived in the East Coast I sold antiques and reproductions. The best part of it all was finding treasures in dusty attics during estate sales, in forgotten thrift stores in rough neighborhoods, even curbside at times. I learned to restore, distress, even the art of French Polishing. All to make an old treasure loved again.
IMG_6404.JPG
She's all done
I can say my home is 95% antique, pre loved & brocante finds. There isn't a thrift store I haven't treasure hunted in, haha. Just two days ago I found this little gem! This rotary princess phone still works and rings!
IMG_7330.JPG
I was able to find a cord for it at a local store.

On my own, through trial and error and lots of reverse engineering, I've learned to refurbish and restore tons of my vintage appliances too.
IMG_7342.JPG
My love for all old began through my parents and grandparents, avid collectors and scavengers like me haha. Then when I had my own place at 18, necessity and wanting to have pretty yet durable furnishings that would never go out of style because I could not afford to go with the times, brought out the treasure hunter in me.
IMG_7344.JPG
Even my son is in on the action and appreciates the preloved furnishings for himself both in his bedroom and this little Gentleman's room we use as an office.
IMG_7345.JPG
Anything others consider trash can be made beautiful if you look hard and find the beauty in it.
This mentality can be applied towards people, animals and inanimate objects as well. Trust me, you can find beauty in almost anything!
IMG_7343.JPG
What's an old treasure that's new to you that you love?
IMG_7341.JPG

IMG_6732.JPG

Sort:  

Wow, interesting decoration, it really is one of a kind, because of the vintage items you have, makes it look special and warm, like it ❤

Thank you! Yes I always loved how inviting and wise older pieces look, when my husband moved into my home he was ver well aware he'd be moving into a girly place haha
Thanks for stopping by 🌷

The advantage we have as women, is that we get to choose how to decorate the house and I'm sure he wants to keep you happy 😉

Happy wife, happy life right? ☺️ Lovely day to you!

Yup! 😊 and I wish you have a lovely day too 😁

Thank you!🌹

Oh, that Phone brings back memories of another time. Such lovely vintage photos. Another life enters my mind...:)

I love vintage and thrift store "treasures." Next you will tell me you're a Aries😉What a great job you did on that piece and I love whites! What a beautiful home you've made full of beauty!
Did I spot a blue crushed ice machine on your countertop? I have a thing for mid century modern and just love uniqueness from that era.🐓

I am an Aries hahaha Really I am, an April baby.
Aww thank you, I love painting old furniture. I love finding treasures on curbsides best of all haha
Yes that is an ice machine! Good eye! One type I was cleaning it out and instead of dropping it when it slipped I caught the blade part with my fingers. That was an awesome bloody mess and the first time my son drove me to the hospital lol

I am also an Aries, that's why I knew you were one! Mine is a March B-Day. My mother and her sister were also Aries, so was my great grandma on that side of the family. Very familiar with the traits of the Ram....LOL
Oh dear to the bloody mess cause by the ice crusher, hope the incident didn't leave too bad of a scar!🐓

I think rams always lean toward the company of other rams lol
The only scar is a small raised area on my knuckle, fortunately (or unfortunately for me) the blades were super sharp and created clean cuts :/

Great that you can reverse engineer old appliances. I have my Auntie Helen's old adding machine. I guess it goes back to the 60's. She was a bookkeeper. She passed away I believe 2007. I'll be keeping her old adding machine.

That is a wonderful memory to showcase in your home!

What a gorgeous home you love in, I love antiques, we collect them but haven't room for furniture at the minute

Thank you friend, I bet where you live there is so much of it all!

Its boring here just a lot of annoying screaming kids lol

We need to get some really good #Steem to move you out of there :) Countryside ok?

Country side sounds amazing lol :)

Let's cross our fingers and hope we get there soon! Missed you! Been so busy ugh

Bless you, you do so much. Remember to take sometimes for yourself hun :)

Omg. I love this. I have that same paint, and have done 3 drawers so far of a bureau. I will post about this soon. My heart is with the old re-invented treasures too!

This paint is truly the best! I can't wait to see what you've created!

I was gonna say you, then blush and run away 😊😂 my wife got into the restoring of old furniture, she was buying in bulk from an estate sale place, little bit of cottage paint, then flipping them on Kijiji. Then she went back to work and we have an oversized coral bedroom set that she won't let me throw out, it's heavy, awkward and impractical. Did I mention she painted it coral. It's like a dark salmon my pinkish... Wanna buy a dresser? 50 steem dollars😄

Did you blush and blend in with your bedroom set naughty you?
haha

Really lovely words you said @artedellavita! We can find beauty in almost everything, it's all in our perception.
I love antiques too!
Your deco is just awesome, you got magical hands!

Thank you friend, its so easy for me to appreciate all the magic of older times...

"Beauty is where you find it"... it's a Bette Davis day, I guess. lol

I Love your place, it's just lovely and very cozy looking. As you well know, we share this mindset. Gurl, I love me some Annie Sloan products, especially the waxes. My kitchen is all chalk -- I went with olde white and dove grey. I live for Duck blue... mmmm, I love olde blue tones.

Wow! Good art, Great thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59