Wetlands Nature Festival In Baytown, Texas (Photo dump from yesterday's adventure)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

1Monitorweb.JPG

Hey Steemit Family

I hope everyone is doing well today. I'm not going to say a lot here, there is too much going on today, but I wanted to pop in real quick and share these photos that I took yesterday.

This festival was all about fun for the kids and education about wildlife and environment. There were loads of different organizations out there raising awareness. It seemed strange going to this type of event considering the whole area is basically one big refinery, but maybe that is the best place to raise awareness.

My buddy @justcheal had to write a paper about the event for one of his classes. So I decided to go with him to get the hell away from my computer and easel for a little bit. I grabbed my Canon 80D and set off down the road.
1Monitorsideweb.JPG

This dinosaur was probably my favorite thing there. I am not even joking when I say that this thing can stick it's tongue out like 2 feet.

1Monitor4web.JPG

1WinterSnakeweb.JPG

This is one badass snake. It is definitely going to make its way into a painting.

1Snapperweb.JPG

This alligator snapping turtle is not to be messed with. This little bastard is the reason so many noodlers (hand fisherman) are missing fingers. Also, do you see that little red thing in his mouth. That is his fishing bait. He lies still and wiggles that thing around to attract lunch.

1bigassturtleweb.JPG

This dude is definitely turtley enough for the turtle club.......also probably old enough for the nursing home.

1beardeddragonweb.JPG

These little guys were quite the pair. I have never seen reptiles play together, but that is exactly what they seemed to be doing in their little tub.

1DragonThingweb.JPG

1bobcatweb.JPG

When I look at this stuffed bobcat I can't help but think that this is the exact suspiscious expression it had just before it was shot.

1pythonweb.JPG

Nothing to see here. Just a tree limb that could eat you whole.

1python3web.JPG

1AwfullyFowlweb.JPG

Something is fowl..........anybody? nobody? crickets chirp.......okay horrible pun anyway, but here are some of the winged creatures in the area.

1TrophyWallweb.JPG

1CrossingTheBridgeweb.JPG

Crossing the bridge on the way back home.

Thanks for stopping by.

I'm glad you stopped in to check it out. I appreciate all of our interactions.

Oh yeah, I wanted to throw this out there before I forget. Have any of you checked out the app Lit? I joined the other day and I think there might be something to it. It is another app that pays content creators in crypto. They use Mithril instead of Steem. It is set up like snapchat or instagram stories which I never really used, but it looks like the platform has the potential for a ton of users. If you are already on Lit come find me. I have the same name there, art-mess.

Sort:  

Your post really captured my attention. Isn't that dinosaur dangerous with the way it was carried with bare hands?!!! I'm really surprised. You actually had a nice day to be precise..

Thanks for stopping by. It's probably fine if you know what you are doing, but the guy that was holding him was keeping a very close eye on him the whole time.

Hmmm,Ok thanks.

Lots of good camera work there! That monitor lizard is a big one! Very much like a dinosaur! I sure wouldn't want that one to latch onto my hand!
There's some interesting deer mounts in that picture, the one looks like an elk.

Yeah. I bet he is pretty fast. Definitely an elk. It was a pretty cool little event. They had all sorts of live animals and even more stuffed animals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05