California Sunsets #7 – Lifeguard Watch

in #photography6 years ago

"When the sun is setting, leave whatever you are doing and watch it.

- Mehmet Murat Ildan

At the end of the day you will always see a lifeguard enjoying the sunset. Here are some of my recent favorites. Here are some of my recent favorites here in Santa Monica and Venice Beach (near Lifeguard Towers 24, 25, and 26)

Click to Enlarge

image1-1.jpeg

Malibu is in the background

image2.jpeg

image1.jpeg

IMG_4121.jpg

Here is the location of where I took the photos. Don’t forget to zoom out.
https://www.google.com/maps/place/34%C2%B000'02.6%22N+118%C2%B029'21.0%22W/@34.0007222,-118.4913554,690m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m5!3m4!1s0x0:0x0!8m2!3d34.0007222!4d-118.4891667

Thank you for visiting and interesting thoughts get --> Upvoted!

Sort:  

These are beautiful and so peaceful! It reminds me why living in beautiful Southern California can never get old...despite our lovely traffic :)

Thank you! and yes why we live here!

this just a perfect CA picture. You take this and a palm tree street BH picture and you have LA! Or at least what most people think about when you say LA.

I see others have mentioned Baywatch. It was all shot in Santa Monica, not in Malibu... So misleading as even the title of the show in french is "Alerte a Malibu".

Anyways cannot let the facts get in front of a good story. That is another way to describe LA...

Thanks @liotap. And yes, great point re Baywatch which was all shot just north of here near the Santa Monica Pier... and great point on how what you see is not exactly what you get.

Thanks for the french lesson!

Oh, my! Talking about timing in all your shots. The one with the lifeguard vehicle in front of the setting sun is definitely one of my favorites! Isn't it freezing down there nowadays?

Yes it is cold down. all the shots were recent. the last one was a few weeks ago.

I agree, the last one. But can't tell if its chilling or warm sunset. It could be either.

Last picture is now my wallpaper.

@pkvlogs, That is also my wallpaper on my notebook!

IMG_4121.jpg
I like This picture very much

There is something about lifeguards being alone at the end of the day. They always watch and wait for the sunset to go down. These are amazing pictures. Quite sunsets. Thank you.

Well said re lifeguards. its like they are recharging from the energy of the sunset for the next day, similar to how birds watch the sunset, and when it sets, they all go home.

I love that saying at the start! It's the reason I don't tend to take many photographs of sunsets because I think sometimes its better to just be present, but these photographs are stunning!

Thank you and I agree @vtravels. I actually did that last night, no phone, no headphones, just the sunset.

Awww amazing :)

These photographs in Santa Monica and Venice Beach are amazing. Can’t wait for spring to finally spend some time at the beach with sip of a beer.
Pictures are beautiful!
3EA9E4F7-7741-42FB-B0B6-1A7609EDF9C4.gif

I will be having a beer later today. Cheers @milano1113!

I love the combination of this track, the lifeguards tower with ocean and the sun. It looks like an illusion. It all blends in to nicely together. You must be proud of these photographs. Nature in mix with man made items comes up always as an art.
I love it!
617E8E6A-51A0-4E9D-B3D9-BC8C2562E5E1.gif

Thanks @rothberg. I'm lucky to be so close to the sea and will always share.

For cell phone camera this is really good! Did you do any work in post? I will be making my way to L.A. at some point just to take photos of the sun setting on the beach! :)

Thank you and great eye. As a result of the sun's glare, I had to do a bit of basic picture edit in my iphone for the last photo. I have been told to invest in a true camera as well as utilize post to capture photos like this. LA is a photographers paradise.. oceans, surf, sunsets, sunset blvd, hollywood, mountains, art deco, palm trees.. i can go on. very lucky I ended up here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40