California Sunsets #25 – Yesterday & Today

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

“There is no place like the beach… where the land meets the sea and the sea meets the sky”
-- Umair Siddiqui

Yesterday’s winds brought rough waters and a one happy kite surfer. The winds left us with clear blue morning skies on Friday.

Click image to view full size.

These photos were taken today (Friday) just south of the Santa Monica Pier near Lifeguard Tower 25 in Ocean Park Santa Monica.

Santa Monica Pier and the Malibu Mountains

apr13a.jpg

Facing south to Venice Beach

apr13b.jpg

Santa Monica Location Click Here

Click image to view full size.

These photos were taken yesterday (Thursday) in Venice Beach near Lifeguard Tower 28.
apr13d.jpg

apr13c.jpg


Venice Beach Location Click Here

--> Thank you for visiting and interesting comments get --> Upvoted!

(All images are by the author and original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

@armentor, great shots, especially the sand ripples from the winds. That reminds e of snow drifts from growing up.

Thanks man, you were the only one to pick that up -- that the sand drifts looks like snow. I have pictures in B&W were the sand really looks like snow. need to dig them up.

I'v been down there on days when the wind is blowing 20-30mph and the sand is just pelting your face like snow. You should post those pictures.

I know that feeling of snow and sand "pelting" my face! When you get a chance, please resteem. Thanks,

No problem. I'll resteem. We got to meet up next week.

Also, the beach is empty, thus where there are wind surfer. I know its really restrictive down there. Once you get a new camera, you'll be able to capture shots like that much better. But still great shot. He appars to be going quite fast.

Yes good catch. Usually black balled with no surfing after 11am. You are so right re need to get a new camera. Iphone 6 has limited zoom and for moving objects it sucks.

Especially down there where it get really crowded. I think they have surfing all year around near tower 28. Does that still happen? Its been awhile since I surfed down there.

Yes. good memory, its for surfing all day, all year around. But gets really crowded during the day with many newbies. gets dangerous. As you probably know, you need to go out during the week days early morning to catch waves down here.

these are really amazing, we can tell it's windy by looking at the shape of the sand on #2!

When do the VBL games start? Will there be some NBA players again this year?

Exactly. You know how it is on those days playing basketball down in Venice Beach. When does the VBL games start?

Thanks for asking, it's coming up!
Lots of players, NBA, euro, pros from all over the world. try outs are on May 20th. Season starts on June 3 then it is every Sunday until July 29. All star weekend with dunkfest 3 is July 14 and 15.

This will be another great season. I was mega world peace place last summer! He had his own team

I'm looking forward to it. The skills last year was crazy. At times more entertaining than a Div I game and free at the beach!

Gorgeous beach! I can't wait for the summer :))

Me too!

CA really offers a unique vibes for life ;) This sunny blue sky made my day:)

It is different here in southern cal as you know. My next big trip will be Cartagena... now that is a real port city!

The blue skies always fill me with awe. I can stay there on the grass or the sand just contemplating the hidden meanings of existence.

Red car and red kite are very good points of interest

Thank you!

@armentor I like the top post the best. Keep up the good photography :)

I feel like each of the pictures has its own charm :) The first one sure is charming with the lovely mountain at the bottom and the red truck. But looking at the second picture, it's the first time I see such a wide sandy expanse in my life :O I wish I could go there one day to play :3333

Have you ever thought of the "quietness in movement" concept? I think that the third picture captures it quite well. Every moment passes, and the joy of riding that wave with it, but in memory, every moment is static. And the last one has a lot of contrast! It's good because it lets you see the color of the sky instead of just white, but the effect is lovely on the beach, making the waves look like stairs of stone.

Well said @cryptosharon.

Wow what a detailed comment @cryptosharon almost an entire blog post lol.
I have not heard of the concept but it sounds like an interesting one. I don't believe each moment is static. I think every moment is dynamic and changeable by our mind and the cosmic helpers. This is important not to program bad things to happen with our mind.

I do love the beach! Do you have time to enjoy the ocean?

cosmic helpers

What are these? The name made me think of the Fairly OddParents.

And I don't have time to enjoy the ocean. I won't have any in months, since I'm planning to start some intensive work to finish college that won't allow me to leave my home much for 6 months. I need it, though. :(

They are similar to guardian angels you can ask for help with anything. I never watched fairly odd parents so I don't know the reference.

Good luck on your studies! What is your field of study?

Thanks man! Yes that first one. I need to get a better camera to capture the kite surfer type shots.

Well I can't wait to see the new photography when you upgrade!

I bet there is some jewelry there to find metal detecting. What a sweet beach!

Great catch! So right. After the winds and waves, there are always a few guys out their with metal detectors. I actually found a penny and nickle.

I remember walking Venice Beach a few years back so beautiful

I walked our local beach at sunrise this morning first time in months it was warm enough and was beautiful

Thanks man! I have to do a morning walk. Sunrises are so surreal.

Morning walks especially by the water are the best

Working spoils that for me like today on the train before the sun even thinks about rising

enjoy the white beach and blue wave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63