California Sunsets #24 – Sun, Wind & Clouds

in #photography6 years ago

Yap, once again, one of my favorite non-quotes.

“May there be just enough clouds in your life to create a glorious sunset.”
-- Unknown

Started off as a beautiful sunny Spring day and then the winds rolled, temperature dropped followed by clouds. Which makes for a perfect sunset. These photos were taken today (Wednesday) just south of the Santa Monica Pier near Lifeguard Tower 24 in Ocean Park Santa Monica.

Click image to view full size.

The Wind - Facing North

apr11f.jpg

apr11b.jpg

The Wind - Facing South Towards Venice Beach

apr11a.jpg

apr11e.jpg

apr11d.jpg

apr11c.jpg

Santa Monica Location Click Here

--> Thank you for visiting and interesting comments get --> Upvoted!

(All images are by the author and original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

It is so windy you have to be careful with the branches falling from the palm trees. You are taking a lot of risk for these beautiful shots! Thanks for sharing.

Yap.. there are like baseball bats! Those palm tree branches were all over the ground.

and they fall on your roof, car, etc. so disrespectful...

So true and they scrap up the paint, etc. You better watch out while on your bike for flying objects!

you are so great @liotap, happy to get to know you. continued success 🤗

As always you come up with great photos !

Thanks Man!

The volley ball courts shot is sick! the blowing sand and alien. planet like sunset. The winds were bad out here, but it looks worse by you. Great shots!

Yes it was quite surreal. As you know from growing up back east, the blowing sand felt like freezing rain, actually got some in my eyes.

I know that feeling too well. Both from the Eastcoast and being at the beach during high winds. Have there been any kite surfers down there or too dangerous?

Funny you should ask. There was one kite surfer yesterday and I saw 2 lifeguard trucks flying towards him. He could'n gather in his gear it was so windy. There are many whitecaps now and haven't seen anyone in the water.

Kite surfers are different animals! I'll resteem these awesome photos later today.

Escpecially the 1st photo is really amazing!!!!
I also like to play beach volleyball. But at the moment I have problems with my shoulder! ;-)

Thank you man! I feel you... my right shoulder is pissed at me! No hockey for awhile.

Beautiful. I really like the one with the volley ball nets. Thanks for sharing!
_ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _
Want a few smiles and laughs? Check out @puddlejumper for new jokes each day!

Thank you @puddlejumper. I'll check it out.

Really love the first shot with the volleyball nets!

Thank you. I haven't seen the beach like that in years. The sand was blowing and felt like frozen rain.

Wow! Well it looks a lot calmer than it was clearly!

This kind of pictures never disappoints me! :) Cali love:)

You DO feel the composition very right. Now you just need some better equipment :D

Yes I do, hopefully Steem keeps raising, then I will get that better equipment.

Well, in US all is cheaper then in Europe. Also with a purpose of shooting landscapes only it is really enough to go for some second hand equipment...

Wow...@ armentor ..your photos are getting better and better...I especially love the pic #1 and #5 ...they gave me great feelings from unsettle (#1) to calm (#5)... thanks again for your sharing your experience...

Thanks. #1 is one of my recent favorites. So windy that day.

The first one with the beach volleyball courts is incredible! Awesome selection :)

Thanks. The wind picked up like 20mph and I ran down there. The sand felt like frozen rain which created that Mars like hazy sand scene. Got lucky!

Haha I know exactly what you are talking about, we had the very same experience when we visited the beach area and were waiting for the sunset :´)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68183.21
ETH 3545.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82