California Sunsets #12 - Ferris Wheel

in #photography7 years ago

It was cloudy all day, however as evening set in, you sensed the sunset was going to be something special. However, I don't think any of us were prepared for the Santa Monica Ferris Wheel to make this truly special.

Here is a 15 minute time-lapse from 6pm (Pacific Time) that shows the magical transformation. (No filters, no editing)

Click image to view full size.

Mar7v.jpg

These photos were taken today (Wednesday) near Lifeguard Tower 21.

Mar7w.jpg

The Ferris Wheel is located on the Santa Monica Pier and is the world’s only solar-powered Ferris wheel measuring about 26 meters in height.

Mar7y.jpg

Malibu is located at the left end of the mountain range.

Mar7x.jpg

Mother Nature + Ferris Wheel = Synchronized Sunset?

Mar7z.jpg

Click image to view full size.

Location: 34°00'15.4"N 118°29'34.2"W

--> Thank you for visiting and interesting comments get --> Upvoted!

(All images are by the author and original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

Nice! Keep spinning that wheel and that reel! ;)

Thanks for the resteem!

Well said my friend!

The ferris wheel seems to be playing off the sunset. the Last photo in so in sync.

Yes. I was surprised I captured that. Some lucky timing.

It's really impressive. I'v been down there and it seems there at night. I'll resteem.

Pretty far away but still catches attention )

yes. thus why I need to purchase a Canon 5D or similar to catch the depth as you do so well.

Nice one man!

Beautiful sunset!

The scenery is so beautiful, when I see your photo, I am very interested in your work, thank you for sharing

Thanks again, it's nice to see you want to reply to my comments

I always read the comments as you never know what you may learn or miss.

I think second one is the best due to reflection. Ferris wheel is also nice detail in the shots!

Thank you! Yes the second one the colors started to kick in.

We have a few more cloudy days in LA this week. Let's get some steemians together and shoot something. Message me...I'll come out to shoot. Maybe some long exposure stuff...

Great idea. I have a few steemians here in SM/VB. I need to get on and set up chat. I am traveling later this week/weekend but will connect.

Wow these sunsets keep getting better and better, like the new addition of the ferris wheel!

Yes the ferris wheel was quite a surprise.

Beautiful pictures dear.

Do you stay in Malibu or are these pictures from a vacation?

IMG_0024.PNG

Thank you. I live in Santa Monica (Ocean Park area), but visit Malibu often.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83