California Reflections

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

"These landscapes of water and reflection have become an obsession"
-- Claude Monet

There was a rare opportunity to capture the reflection off the Pico Lagoon in Santa Monica near the Pacific Ocean that fills up due to rain or high tide.

Here is the original photo of the Pico Lagoon I used for a recent Monomad Challenge - Sunday Skies entry (hosted by @brumest, Sunday Skies Here)

Ocean Road

IMG_1613-3.jpg
Click image to view full size.

The following are photos of the lagoon from the opposite direction and of the Shutters and Casa del Mar Hotelslocated in Santa Monica, California.

Apologies in advance for the low quality of the photos.

IMG_7641-2.jpg

IMG_7667.jpg

The street (and lights) between the two hotels is Pico Boulevard which starts in Downtown Los Angeles and ends here.

This photo is from my April 30th California Sunsets #33, which provides a great view of the same location)

April29.jpg

Photo taken from the Santa Monica - Location Click Here Zoom in.

Thank you for visiting and interesting comments get Upvoted

(All images are by the author and original content, created expressly for Steemit).

(© 2018 @armentor. All rights reserved.)

Sort:  

As I am coming back from Paris, reading a Monet quote is a treat. I love the first pic, reminds me of some Lik's deck pictures. great post, thank you.

And yes I knew would appreciate that! Thanks my friend.

Amazing shots. What a contrast between the day and night. I was down there this weekend and saw the walled off the pico run-off.

Right! as you know its been windy especially in the evening. the night photo I took around 9:30pm and the wind just stopped. quite remarkable.

How many homeless did you find out there! Seriously, it gets a little sketchy down there at night in the offseason. But certainly worth getting those photos!

Amazing pictures - expecially the 1st one.
By the way it is our day. Let's celebrate... ;-)
All the best!!!

Yes it is and will be celebrating through to Sunday... I hope... Thank you and enjoy the celebration!

You couldn´t describe first photo better than the quote by C. Monet!
I love his "Water-Lily Pond" ;)

Exactly! When I zoomed in on the low def photo it reminded me of Monet.

I like the first photo in blue style! Reflections are always attractive :)

Glad you agree. It was painful for me to edit that into monochrome.

Awesome series of shots

Thanks man!

Beautiful reflection, so calm water.

The pictures of Pico Boulevard especially the night view are awesome, you do not need to apologize for quality, I love this way, it looks like a painting, great shots :)

Thank you. I need to invest into a better camera for night shots. And yes the night reminded me of a painting,when I zoomed in the low definition turned it into more of a perception of what the reflection and hotels were, thus reminded me of Monet (though I don't recall many night time paintings, probably because they didn't have electricity to light things up!)

I love reflections. These came out well. One of my fav series was that 10 days of reflections challenge. I need to get back to doing them!

Nice 👍 photography @armentor

First and last one I like a lot! When, I was in LA, I always tried to escape LA and went directly to Santa Monica :)

So true. I always say I escaped Glendale! I moved out here from NY to Glendale and once out of College the escaped to SM.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85