The last sail - rowing with a motorboat

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170926_182627.jpg

I've owned my own boat for a few years. Now I'm close to do a great change and sell my boat and buy 50% share of another boat with a family member. This way I won't need a small, poor equipped boat and instead get a safer, more stable one. We both are only traveling to the same summer cottage, so we won't need separate boats.

We went to pick up my boat from the sea, but everything didn't go as planned. The engine didn't start, but it wasn't a big deal as I could easily row my boat to the ramp. However.. it is a very small dock and the ramp is kind of muddy. We had just attached the boat to the trailer and I said "Wow this was easy", when my brother-in-law tried to pull the boat and trailer up and.. the car was stuck. It couldn't pull the boat and the trailer up, as the ground was too soft. The wheels only threw rocks, mud and sand off and the car was still.

We took the boat off the trailer so I could row it to the next, better ramp and my brother-in-law would drive the trailer in there. However he couldn't pull even the empty trailer up the ramp.

We took the trailer off and the car couldn't get up even alone. After three tries of backing off a bit to get some speed, he finally got the car up. We pulled the trailer from water ourselves and we were relieved. The situation already had me a bit worried if we couldn't get even the car up, but luckily we got both car and trailer up.

I had to row. It wasn't great to row it as a motorboat is not perfectly designed for rowing. However it was nice as there was zero wind. I got some nice photos from the row.

IMG_20170926_182505.jpg

IMG_20170926_182507.jpg

IMG_20170926_182517.jpg

IMG_20170926_182622.jpg

IMG_20170926_182627.jpg

IMG_20170926_182630.jpg

IMG_20170926_183306.jpg

IMG_20170926_183705.jpg

When I finally reached the other, better ramp, we got the boat up with zero work and the story had a happy ending. Not that kind of happy ending

Sort:  

It is sea? It looks so calm it could be lake. Amazing photos and story cracked me up a little. Not that I was laughing about unfortunate situation and extra work you had to put in to get the boat. Hehe!

It is and I can tell you, it is extremely rare to see it as calm as it was. A wind meter was showing 0 m/s wind speed :)

Thank you for not laughing at our unfortunate situation.

Ooh, I love that view! I miss the Finnish archipelago..

It was a lovely view even though (or maybe because?) it was really foggy.

I haven't had much time on Steemit because I've been working in a new position so I have missed quite many of your posts, but have you enjoyed California?

I would say probably because it was foggy, it adds a kind of magical touch to the view.

I've been loving it in California so far! The university is great and I've met a lot of wonderful people :)

Edit: but I've also been busy and haven't had time to post on steemit as much as I would like to.

And congrats on the new position! :)

The fog is useful, as it gives the photos this kind of foggy look.. "ha ha" :D

I'm happy to hear you have enjoyed California! The good start will get you far, as it is good to continue from there. Hope you'll have a great time even when winter starts ;)

Have you had any storms around there?

And thank you :)

Haha yeah :P No we haven't been having any bad storms yet luckily, they have mostly been on the east cost.

It's difficult to understand how big USA is, of course something happening on the east coast will not affect in California.. not like I would have mixed California and Florida, of course not.

hahaha :D But yeah, it is huuuuugeeee! It feels really strange how big it is!

Great post, beautiful nature :)

Thank you, I thought you can appreciate the beauty of the sea :)

Fantastic Photo my friend 😍
always be happy and keep it up

Thank you nomishiek :D

welcome my friend and plz upvote and thanku😍

Beautiful! It looks so peaceful.

Thank you! It was really peaceful, the only sound I could hear was the sound of my rowing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66131.28
ETH 3598.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46