The old WatchMaker (Photo Story)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

On my daily commute to work some time ago in the Netherlands, I used to pass a building where I could see a man working in his house. It seemed to me that he was a jewel or watchmaker, because of the bright light above his head and the magnifying loupe he wore.

watchMaker-2.jpg

One day my curiosity got the best of me and I decided to ring his doorbell.
This friendly old gentleman greeted me saying, good morning young man what can I do for you?
I replied my name is Omar and I have been passing by your house for a couple of months. Since I could not quite make out what kind of work you do sir, I wanted to ask.
He said, I am a Watchmaker and asked me if I wanted to look inside?
He showed me around, there were watches and wall clocks everywhere! Do not mind the clutter he said as there were tools and parts all over the place. I can find my way in here even if I was blindfolded. He seemed like a mad scientist to me at first, but I saw his passion for the craft.

I proceeded asking him some questions, do you fix watches and clocks or make them also?
My specialty is to repair them, though in my training I have also learned to make them.

watchMaker-1.jpg

How did you become a watchmaker? Well it was a long time ago, and in those days, you either could afford to go to school or you joined a craftsman and learned over the years. I did the latter.
Sadly, young people are not interested in crafts like mine anymore. I am part of a dying breed and unfortunately, most of the new luxury watches are being mass produced, and are becoming harder to repair because of closed systems.
I asked do you have a website and how do people find you?
I have no need of such things, I have been repairing watches and clocks for the better part of my life. People know how to find me and I have more work than I can handle because I am one of a few left.

watchMaker-3.jpg

I told him that I was a photographer and would love to photograph him working his craft.
He seemed happy that someone had taken such an interest in his work and suggested I come by tomorrow in the morning.

watchMaker-4.jpg

The next day when I arrived he asked what photo’s would you like to make? And what should I be doing? I said please just do work as you would if I was not here, and the next 45 minutes I took these photographs.

watchMaker-5.jpg

As a photographer with my camera sometimes feels like being an explorer with a passport.
Though he would have been happy if anyone had taken an interest in his work regardless!

I understand that for most people these are boundaries not easily crossed, but I can tell you guys experiences like these are worth it!

If you like this post, please share with others that you think might enjoy it.
Follow me at @apprenticeoflife

Sort:  

One of the old fashioned professions which will disappear over amount of time. I really like the photo's! It gives a nice nostalgic view of this old profession.

It is a beautiful craft, unfortunately in the mass produce word we live in there is less and less need for such people. The mentality these days seems, if it's broken replace it!

The "if it's broken replace it" mentality is very sad as fixing what you already have is better for the environment than buying new. We can't have people buying less stuff though due to the global corporation consumerism mantra. 😎 I never understood my grandparents way of doing things this way by repairing rather than replacing until now.

I think there is just something about us humans that want to fix stuff. But in this day and age it is all about the cost, totally agree.

Great story! Real craftsmen are becoming more and more rare. Nice to see he appears to be living for it's work! Great photos also!

awesome photo's man. Great story too !

Muchas gracias eqko, glad you liked it!

Very good post...I like it :) I hope you make more soon :)

Thanks foxkoit, I plan to! :)

Thank you exyle! Glad you enjoyed them. Hope to be posting on a regular base. I'm starting to really appreciate the platform. These photo’s were sitting on my computer for a while, now they have an audience that can appreciate them.

Have you seen my post (Connected Zombies (Photo Project)? I think you will enjoy those also. Thanks for dropping by mate!

Appreciate it, happy you enjoyed it!

This is a fascinating story indeed.

There are so many untold stories on every street corner, glad you enjoyed!

I did! Keep collecting them! :)

I plan to! Thanks for the kind support!

Congratulations @apprenticeoflife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @apprenticeoflife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91