Steem seems to be gaining steam! (1000 followers update:)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

paulsphotography2.JPG

(I felt like sharing a lil of my work on this post.. So.. Here's one of my pride and joy images, however this is the raw unedited version so there's some lines and a lot of defects and the colors aren't quite right.. I should work on this image again soon cause it's a great shot in my opinion!)

Hey peoples who happen to read this.
Just reached 1000 the other day and as usual I like to make a post on here every so many followers to sort of express my thoughts on the platform and my personal experiences so far.
I've noticed quite a few people tell me they appreciate these posts I make, yet I'm not sure if I should use the #introduceyourself tag anymore cause I saw a bot warning someone else not to.

And.. I really dunno what the rules are in regards to that? Can anyone tell me? I thought it was okay for certain exceptions and I thought one of those exceptions was when you get a certain amount of followers.
Perhaps that's not okay anymore? Maybe it never was and I just thought it was and copied other people who I saw do it first?
I'm not sure..

Anyways.. Moving on.
Took me almost a year to get to 1000, I signed up this previous September and apparently I saw someone else on here who got that within a month!
So.. Lol.. Guess I'm not doing that great, but I'm keeping at it.

Furthermore.. When my account is worth around $6,000 I have two friends..
One that signed up a month or two after me and one that invited me to the platform who I think was already here for a month or two before I arrived.. And both of their accounts are worth around $20,000 when mine is $6,000...
So.. Really confused on that one! I feel like they must have bought some steem with physical dollars.
Just not sure how both of them could have almost like 3 times as much.. But.. Maybe I just don't watch their pages close enough and they're really killing it.

It's hard to figure out how well I'm doing on here sometimes and perhaps I shouldn't compare myself with others that much, but I do wanna figure this stuff out and understand it more.

And now it seems like steem is gaining steam cause I check other blog posts on here pretty often and I dunno what the stats are right now but..
A lil while ago people were claiming thousands were signing up a day.. And I think there's around 200 thousand active users? I could be wrong..
But.. That's still quite a ways from Facebooks 2 billion active monthly users.. Yet it's exciting to watch it grow, and I have a feeling it will some day compete with other big social media.

It's especially cool to see some big YouTubers and people from other social media jumping on board, sometimes those people have more followers on their respective media than steemit has active users all together!
So.. There's definitely a lot of room for growth and I think it will grow.

However.. I am still slightly suspicious. Where did the original funding for steemit come from? I asked at least one before and never got an answer.
I admit this could be one of the most genius scams ever, but I don't believe it is.. Or else I wouldn't have advocated it to so many people and encouraged them to join.
Yet I still think it's possible there could be something deeper going on here that most people don't realize and perhaps don't WANT to realize because they are making money.

It's very common for people to lose sense of right and wrong when they are benefiting. They often look the other way so that they keep benefiting in those ways.
Some people think steem and other crypto currencies are here to lead us into a cashless society which they fear.
They claim those in power will be able to shut off anyone's account at the touch of a button.. Yet.. I think it's sort of unavoidable that we're moving in this direction and I'm not scared like those people are.
I welcome new better technology, though I do think we need to be careful and wary as we go into new territory.

I'd like to ask again.. Does anyone really know where the initial funding for steemit came from?
Is there a name or names for these wealthy investors? Or are they kept secret? I'm curious. -.-

I think the recent hard-fork helped a lot! But I still feel like there are some problems with the whale system and I've seen some very valid complaints about how some people seem to be gaming the system.
Hopefully those things can be worked out, I think this is a beautiful idea and would be saddened to see it ruined by the vultures and predators and selfish manipulators.

I never made a penny on Facebook or anywhere but YouTube and only made like $4.00 on there in around the same amount of time I've been on steemit!
When my account was worth the most it was $6,500, that's insanely more than I ever made on YouTube.
Definitely not enough to make a living on even if I could pull it out at will.. Yet, clearly superior to YouTube.
And it's amazing to get something back for all the energy I put out all the time.
I did all this stuff for free and never really expected any money back, but now that it's happening.. I'm like heck yeah! :D

Thanks a bunch to roadscape who helped a bunch recently with my fathers images and mine.
I don't know if you're suppose to thank the whales or if that's sort of taboo.
I imagine that a number of people game the system by befriending whales, yet.. I don't wanna give the impression that I'm doing that.

This entire almost year here I've mostly only had two whales regularly upvote my stuff, and I haven't seen the other one in a while.. berniesanders.
I wonder if I scared him/her off with my weird conspiracy posts! Heh..
But either way.. I am very grateful for their support, especially roadscape's recently, it made a big difference in my morale to see my fathers art work given such respect on this platform.

I don't know when I'll cash out, and at first I wasn't thinking about it at all and planned to hold it for like ever, but... It's a dream of mine to pay off my father's house which he owes around $100,000 on the mortgage..
So if my account ever gets to be worth that much.. I'll be really tempted to cash out, even though I feel like.. I wanna hold it even longer.
I feel like steem might eventually be worth much much more. And if I sold it then at $100,000.. I could lose a lot of potential!
Though.. I would really love to pay my parents back like that.. They gave me life and taugh me good morals, and I think most kids wanna help their parents in a way like that.. To buy them a new house or something.. I'd just like to help them pay off the one they already have! If I could do that for them, it would be one of the most important things I ever did in my life..
So that is on my mind, and if my account ever gets worth that much I'll probably get really nervous! Lol.

If that ever does happen, and I do end up paying off the house from my efforts here on steemit.. Then I would say steemit was one of the most important things that happened to me in my life because it helped me reach one of my most important goals..
I've seen others pretty much crying and breaking down in tears because of how much steem has helped them..
This system really could in my eyes be an amazingly revolutionary idea that changes the lives of countless people for the better.

I hope that is what happens, to an extent it already has! Though as I said, I am still a lil uncertain and questioning of all this stuff. I'm a very skeptical person and it takes a lot for me to say 100% about almost anything..
Though.. What's clear right now is.. Steemit has already helped a bunch of people.
Even if it ends up being one of the most genius scams in the history of the world, then would still be a scam that helped a lot of people.

I've seen people with their steem efforts buy new computers, pay for their rent and medical bills and emergencies and all kinds of things..
It really does seem like a miracle idea at times and it even gives me some hope back in humanity and in a world I see as being in a very dark place.
Maybe steemit will help us move into a more free and fair and beautiful new world.. I am hopeful and optimistic and very open to the possibility!

And even if steemit did end up being some sort of scam or conspiracy.. I've met so many awesome people on here..
And shared my artwork and ideas to receptive people who then also helped me learn and understand the world better..
I mean.. It's just been totally worth it. Even if I never cash out and I never make a cent.
Just being a part of this community.. Is a prize and a reward within itself that is extremely valuable regardless of any other attached component/benefit.

So.. I guess to end this update.. Thank you to all of you awesome people here on steemit who have made me feel welcome here.
Coming from other social media like Facebook, this is just a totally different world.
I've only interacted with a few people who I didn't get along with well on here and they never were so immature or stooped so low that they trolled my entire page like happens on Facebook.. Or elsewhere, like YouTube.. The trolls are horrible!

This place is almost troll free,(AT LEAST IN MY EXPERIENCE, I have seen others deal with some trolls) the nature of it almost seems to promote more respect and principled interaction.. It's beautiful. I love it.
This site is worth it to me just for that alone.. Just for the awesome people. :)
Cheers to all of you and thanks for being a breath of fresh air!

photography13.JPG

(A picture of me when I was younger.. I didn't really know how to smile back then..)

20160328_214427.jpg

(A more recent picture, I know how to smile now. :)

PS.. If you didn't know.. I mostly post nature photos and random thoughts about life, but I also make movies, if you'd like to check one of them out I will put a couple links below!

And I hope to have AYOT part 2 out soon! Plus a number of other videos, I've been working hard and looking forward to sharing some more good content before too much longer! :) I also want to release some no copyright videos in the future that anyone can use for their stuff, but that's going to take a lil while.
Mmmkay.. I think that's enough for now. Seeya later!

Sort:  

WOW!! Stunning even for a raw / unedited photo. Congratulations on 1 000 followers, look on the bright side you got 1 000 more followers than me :)

Thanks. :) Both for the photo comment and the congrats for 1000. And lol. I guess.. I try not to compare myself with others in that sense. But hey I'll check out your page and if I like your stuff I'll give you a follow. :) Good luck on here either way!

First and foremost, I wouldn't know that rainbow photo was raw and unedited if you didn't say so, it looked so nice and well taken to me, I would never know the difference :) I also have the same question about where all the steem payouts are coming from, where the funding for the initial steem came about... Did steem have an ICO? I stopped comparing how others are doing with their posts to prevent heartaches... hahaha... I'm still figuring out what's the way to get a few more eyeballs on my posts. And yes, I'm also thinking what would I do when and if my account accumulated to an amount that would make a difference, would I cash out or should I not? But I guess I should stop worrying about that for now and actually make that happen first which will surely take quite a bit more time ;) Maybe by then I would be mature enough to actually better tackle that question :)

Are you on a cell phone? Cause I have a pretty big TV/computer monitor and it's pretty clear to me. Especially the 3 lines going through it and the uneven crop at the bottom. Plus there's one really big white spot.
But you know.. Most people don't really notice that stuff very much, but I tend to be pretty finicky about it, lol.

Glad you liked the image though! It's a darn vibrant rainbow and it's cool to have the Autumn colored trees in there too. :)

Hmm.. My computer is not letting me copy paste what you said for some reason right now, but in regards to what you said about the initial investors.. Yeah.. It's a valid question.. I did a google search once before to try to find any info and I couldn't really find anything.. It wasn't a really exhaustive search, more of a quick search.. But.. I wasn't able to easily find it like I easily find many things.

Yeah, agreed.. I think we should always be thinking about how to get more eyes on our work, or ears if you're a musician or whatever.. Though.. We should be careful not to sell our souls in the process! In my opinion anyways, there might be some people who sold their souls who would disagree! They prolly love that life, but morals are important to me and I think they should be to others too.

And yeah.. It may take a while, or it could possibly happen quick.. Things can go viral and word spreads faster than ever.. The potential is pretty amazing here. Though I do think it will take longer, I am open to fast changes as well.

I wouldn't necessarily worry about it and I don't think worrying is a bad thing either, but it is something to think about! :) But yeah.. Good luck with your efforts on here and thanks for the thoughtful comment!

This place is a miracle , people come here with different dreams and goals , I've been here for not too long but I know if we work our way up with honesty , our accounts will one day be worth a lot as well . I loved reading this because it was really inspiring to me to keep going and not give up @apolask mask up and heads up

It is in some ways for sure! However, I still don't see the whole picture and my conspiracy mind warns me against overly accepting things in this world, especially when they seem too good to be true! Heh. Like.. steemit would just be a perfect way for those in power to get their cashless society into play. So.. I'm open minded to the possibility there is something more going on, yet it's clear as I mentioned in my op and as you feel, that it is being a miracle for many already, even if there are darker original intents going on somewhere down the line.

And yeah! The potential here is really great for early adopters. Especially if steem competes with stuff like bitcoin and Facebook, and if it reaches millions and then hundreds of millions or more, early investors like us could make a small fortune, or.. More. Who knows.. It really is fascinating to think about. Yet.. I think they would have to improve the whale system a bit first, or else it's going to be corrupted more and more by people with more power and influence just like in regular society.

I dunno.. I tend to have faith in the goodness of humans and I think we'll figure out ways to continually remove the corrupt and bad parts and continually evolve to better standards, so I definitely have high hopes. :)

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed reading the post and that it inspired you to keep at it!
Really.. That amount your account is worth could be a lot more if the value goes up and the more you keep at it the more it should grow, that's how a lot of these social media sites work.. So.. Good luck to you on your journey! I hope it goes well. :) And thanks for your thoughtful comment and for appreciating.

I've been here for less than 2 months but keeping hope . Thanks for keeping me inspired . I'll see you around often now (:

Congratulations on reaching 1000 @apolymask! :)

This was a great post to read mate and you gave an excellent overview of steemit. I think you should be very proud of what you have achieved and the rewards you have earned even though they may be less than those of others because everything I have ever read or seen of yours has been genuine and from the heart. You write what you want to write and not what you think others want to hear and there is a lot to be said for that genuine approach when so many others are indeed scamming the system and using it only for their own benefit.

Grats on 1000. Hopefully in a few years steem will be half way to what facebook is at with the active members.

Thanks midgeteg! And yeah.. That would be amazing. I wouldn't be surprised if it was up to millions of users in a couple years.. But.. A billion.. I think it may take like 5-10 years, partly cause a lot of those users on Facebook are just like keeping in touch with family and friends and stuff, it's not really about the other things that steemit offers.. Yet.. I do think some day it will be the normal for people to be able to make money off their social media posts.

I'm sorta surprised Facebook or others haven't jumped more on this yet as things like steemit grow.. But.. There's still time, maybe when steemit gets millions Facebook will wake up and realize more of what's going on and reward their users more, or at least give the option for people to donate to more than just charities on the posts.

Congratulations of course, keep being who you are.

Thanks! Same to you. :)

Congratulations For Growing So Fast!

I'm not sure how fast it is, there's quite a few people who've done a lot better! But.. Thanks! :) I'll keep at it and we'll see where all this goes.

Welcome to Steem Community @apolymask! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

| perhaps don't WANT to realize because they are making money.
That's true. Most people don't really care if it's the right way or not as long as it pays. But it would good to know who the initial investors were. Now, don't you go about writing a conspiracy theory about Steemit :P hahah :P

Your dad's work is amazing! I really hope you do pay the mortgage off and i think you will! You are doing amazing :) <3

I love that photo where you are inside the canyon! :)

Steem on! Like for like, Follow for follow :P
Kidding :P

Yeah.. Unfortunately.. People sell their souls for a lot less than money sometimes too. And hahaha.. Yeah.. I guess it depends on who the initial investors are.. I'd have to feel a bit weirded out if they were like the Rothchilds or some other ultra elite in the occult/power realm.
Hopefully that's not the case!

Thanks for the nice words about my dad's work! :) I hope so too and I think the odds are pretty good! <3 This is a unique system and the people who invested early in Facebook really made a lot! So, if you're early on certain platforms.. It can be pretty massive. But.. We'll see how it goes! Only time will tell I think..

Steem on! Like for like, Follow for follow :P
Kidding :P

Hahahaha! Good one. :) Thanks for the laugh and the smile! Hope you're doing well!

Congrats on your 1000 followers man! That's quite an achievement. I think if you keep doing what your doing you WILL grow your steem to 100K one day. The bigger this site gets the more people will see your stuff. I'm glad I'm able to see yours and your dads pictures, really reminds me of New Mexico which I loved. Good luck on your Steem journey.

Thanks! It's decent, though quite a few people have done quite a bit better. But yeah, I'm happy to have made it this far. :) And I hope this kind of better technology continues to happen where regular people are liberated more and the huge monopolies less. And.. I have a feeling it will happen if steemit goes up in value and becomes mainstream. I guess we'll see how it goes! :)
Thanks for the encouragement and for the nice words about me and my fathers pictures! And yeah.. Arizona is sorta similar to New Mexico.. The 4 corners area and the south west is just a really beautiful area for sure.. I think that's one reason they've made so many movies around here. Heh. Sedona is actually known as Little Hollywood. There's quite a bit of history here.

Thanks for the good luck! Same to you grizzman!! I've enjoyed interacting with you so far. You seem like good peoples.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50