Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Hopefully this year is an extra interesting one, I have a feeling it's going to be. I've recently been inspired with making movies more than ever, and it's been a long time since I've felt so passionate about something. This letter is mostly going to be about that, but I hope you can take away something useful from it.

I've been working really hard to plant some seeds, and hoping they will eventually blossom into something beautiful. Some of them already have.. The short film me and my father worked on was one of the highlights of my life and the other short film I released around a year ago for free on YouTube titled "Are You Out There?" provided me with some great insight and a variety of responses as well..

I received some very powerful responses.. A few people told me they changed how they were going to live after watching it, numerous people told me they cried, others were angry at seeing what is really happening in the world and seeing all these reactions to the information I put forward.. Made me feel like I can offer a unique voice and perspective that many people find valuable.. So, I'm definitely focusing a lot on movie making right now.

Helping to raise awareness in the world is one of the things that brings me the most happiness. And I'm glad to just reach a person here and there with some new useful information they may not have known before, as I have been doing for many years in other ways outside of movie making.. For example, just talking to regular people I meet about things I've learned, or writing up content that I share online. I really love doing that, and I think that's why I have gravitated to it.

So naturally it seems, just like my progression in photography has been more from stills into video, also my speaking out should also kind of naturally evolve from text and words into visual productions... And even though my recent movie has only got around 1000 views since I released it in about a year of being up, it's all worth it for those couple people who personally message me and tell me the kind of effect it had on them. When I get those kinds of reactions and responses.. I know I'm doing something right.

I just need to keep learning how to do it better and to balance it with other things, right now I'm working on much smaller simpler content, kind of like Vlogs and it's helping to teach me a lot as well.. This year, which is also my 33rd year here on this planet and which is suppose to be a powerful number numerologically, is also the same year that I got really serious about making movies and when I finally realized just how much that's what I want to do.

I mean.. I think when I really knew.. Was when me and my father submitted our short film "Sedona A Jewel In The Desert" and we had sold out crowds of people clapping for our movie.. That was when I really really really knew, but now.. It took me a while for that to sink in even more, and all of this other stuff, especially how so many people are making a living off of YouTube now and it's accessible to virtually anyone.

Some day I would like to be able to make a living just making movies, and that's the goal.. I don't know if it'll ever happen.. There's millions of other fish in the sea competing so to speak, and it's harder than ever to get noticed and develop a following in some ways, even though the technology is more abundant than before.. That also means you really gotta stand out of the crowd even more as well to turn it into a living, and we'll see if I'm capable of that, only time will tell.. But I'm glad just doing it as a hobby for fun in my free time even if I'm unable to make something more out of it.

Usually my Christmas/New Years letter is less about me, but, this year.. This is almost all I can really think about right now, so hopefully I didn't waste your time and maybe what you can take out of this letter is that.. If you're really passionate about something that harms no one unjustly, you should go after it and try your best and you might even make some magic happen.. I'm so grateful I got into photography and movie making.. I have priceless memories that I will always cherish. I hope you have something similar and good luck to you with your efforts towards your dreams and goals!

I'm going to work really hard to try to make this year one that stands out when I look back in life. I hope you're all doing well out there and that you have a great Christmas and a great New Year as well! -Love Paul

PS For those of you who see this on steemit or Facebook, if you'd like to give something to me for Christmas, or if you're just curious, please check out the short film me and my father made titled "Sedona A Jewel In The Desert", I'll put the link below.

Or just check out any video on the channel, I'm finally starting to have a lil bit of a selection on there to look through. :) Or you could give a subscribe or a like or a comment or something. I hate asking, but I'd both like to get to 100 subscribers by the New year and that's how social media works, the more you like comment subscribe the more it puts it into the feed for others to see it as well..

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC95Ti_MwM2f67b5NikftneQ

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.35 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Good to know! Thanks for the info. ._.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51