Here's one of my father's lightning images that I really like.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

#81  flashpoint 4x6 lab2.jpg

Hey everyone, I have been telling my father about steem for a while and he's a bit older and while I think he's smart enough to keep up with the technology, unfortunately he has muscular dystrophy and it's hard for him to type much or use computers a lot.. So I kind of doubt he will make his own account, but he did give me permission to upload his images on here and, I guess perhaps we can share an account in some ways if he doesn't end up signing up himself.

Either way, I'd appreciate it if you'd show some love for this image, leave some feedback and upvotes and stuff like that so I can show my father sort of how this site works. And.. Who knows, if it goes really well.. Maybe he'll even sign up with his own account some day, but either way.. He has given me permission to share his images and I'm happy and proud to share them with you. :)

I think my father is the best photographer in Sedona.. Even better than me. :)
My fathers name is Michael Irvine and you can find more of both of our work here at
https://www.facebook.com/Irvinesimages

We also worked on a short film together about Sedona and the monsoon season you can find here.

This particular image is called "Flashpoint" and is of Cathedral Rock in Sedona, it was filmed on a.. 35mm Rebel I think. With a lightning trigger, which is a device you attach to the top of your camera and it senses lightning..

I also got this shot myself on 35mm and was with him there that day and have shared my version of this image on steemit before as well, mine is zoomed out a bit, but still beautiful! This one is pretty spectacular though, and even though I got this image zoomed out more, there's something about the zoomed in version that I'm jealous of!
Anyways.. Thanks for appreciating and cheers!

(PS I feel like the mountain is just a TAD too magenta, this is because of the lab we were using, we had to mess around with the colors a lil, but really.. It's not that far off.. It's really close to how I saw it with my eyes.)

Sort:  

Congrats @apolymask. Your photo made it on the Top Photographs Daily Selection today :). Upvoted and Resteemd!

https://steemit.com/photography/@mycamerashots/best-photos-trail-25th-june-2017-2017625t22520311z

Cool. :) Good to know. Thanks for the info and the upvote and resteem!

wow looks great

If you make photos like that, than you don't have to type a lot of text ;)
Great photo. Yours are great as well.

Woah, that's an amazing shot he took. Probably one of my favorite images of lightnings that I've seen in awhile, to be honest! Good stuff!

Word, thanks for the great comment and for appreciating. :)

Amazing. Ive never been able to photograph lightning like this but it seems like a lot of fun.

It's actually a ton of fun because the conditions and lightning are always different.. But.. It's a lil scary and dangerous.. On this day particularly I forgot to mention in the OP that we had a close call where some lightning was striking pretty close to us. Heh.. So yeah.. It can be kinda dangerous. But definitely fun too. :) Thanks for the comment.

Yeah I really like this. The colours on the rocks are really nice and vibrant although I think they could be dulled slightly. The lightning looks surreal.

So do you guys go to a shop to process the film or do you do it yourselves? I'd like to get into film photography but I don't have the money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55290.41
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32