2/3s of my tomatoessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

20181111_164901.jpg

Part of the greenhouse I have tomatoes. Actually, most of the greenhouse at this point is full of tomatoes? Why?

  1. I originally thought less of the seed would sprout. 2/3s of the seed my mom sent me was past the recommended planting date. Almost all of its sprouted though. Oops.

  2. I really like tomatoes. I cook all sorts of things (mexican, american and russian, well, left bank Ukrainian).

  3. To eat them like I'd like would cost an arm and a leg at least at grocery store prices. So, I thought I'd better grow them

  4. Finally, I can give them to my kids for them to eat as well: fresh off the vine (really a bush) tomatoes are far, far better than what you get in the store here in the US. When their mom and I were married, we never had a garden. I really wanted one, but it didn't work out that way. When I was a kid, my mother had a huge garden and we learned to grow those plants. And I loved it. It's something I wish to do for my kids. Just the wrong time of year.

At any rate, I have over 100 tomato plants and have been building out beds for them to move most of them out of the pots. The first blossoms are in the process of opening. In a month, fresh tomatoes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75