Color Challenge ~ Monday Red

in #photography5 years ago

#colorchallenge ~🌿 @kalemandra

Scarlet Red Zinnia flower and two Japanese Beetles.
Yesterday was my first time seeing these beetles in my garden.
I spent all last evening doing some research on how to naturally control them.
I need to be 100% sure anything I do or use doesn't harm the beneficial insects or the pollinators.

🍃🍃
20190915_213925.jpg
🍃🍃
20190916_075741.jpg
🍃🍃
Photo taken by
@annephilbrick
🍃🍃

HNWT6DgoBc18GVREvvsnAjfLwLF5qHHFduNHKinq2B55SDUtGAN8s3XQcZepD8w2VRbNMmFx2XxwB84ctfZqag839mttKMARmGuUSpYrV1itrrSgZt1MqMscJuc (1).jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @annephilbrick! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 comments. Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.
You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

😊
Thank You !!!
@steemitboard
:-)

Ahhhh! Those bugs needs a room!

☺ !!
@blacklux
I was thinking the exact same thing...!

@annephilbrick separating these two would be a start on controlling them, You have the horniest bugs, I think you took a photo a while back of to bugs mating. I can not remember what they were.

I had an invasion of these beetles coming into the house a few years ago. First I thought they were lady bugs as they were similar. They were mainly an orange color. My control was to manually get rid of them without using any insecticide.

They cling to a window. I sprayed the window with vinegar and cleaned them off.

Thankfully that cycle ended as I haven’t seen any lately.

😊 !!
I so hope I don't get an invasion!!
and I'd like to advoid one. I'm still researching things I can do or purchase. I like you manually remove. For Japanese Beetles a product called Milky Spore sounds interesting 🤔.

Those are cool little beetles! I don't recognize them either, though.

Oh no the japanese beetles are replicating.

Posted using Partiko Android

🙂
@sketch.and.jam
They sure are...! and they like to replicate alot...!!!

I catch handfuls of them for the bluegill in the lake. They love them.

🙂
@sketch.and.jam
Wow...!!! I'm not sure what would eat them here. But would definitely like to find something that would.
:-)

Only thing that eats them here is the bluegill i think they give off some kind of chemical that makes them taste bad.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is the second article he received and in both, he saw the mating of insects, it will be that you are conspiring a being for them LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22