Butterfly Day and Insect Day

in #photography4 years ago

#Butterflyday and Insect day ~ hosted by @whatisnew ~ Week 48

Most beautiful Dragonfly sitting on top of a Globe Thistle flower.

20200220_214951.jpg

I'm not positive but I think it's an Orange Meadowhawk dragonfly.
It's an absolutely spectacular sight to see when there is a large swarm of them all together flying and zipping around. Sometimes just inches from off the ground.

20200220_215204.jpg

Quite a few years back I did some research and wanted to learn why so many of them were gravitating and swarming over particular small area.
My understanding is there is an abundance of insects in that spot. For example, mosquitoes.
I have plenty of mosquitoes and the beautiful dragonflies are welcome to eat all the want.

20200220_215708.jpg
🦋🐝
HAPPY BUTTERFLY AND INSECT DAY

Photography by
@annephilbrick
🌿🌿

Sort:  

Oh, my. Both are beautiful! You are so lucky to see a swarm of dragonflies. I am lucky if I see one or two for the whole season. I guess I don't have enough mosquitoes. LOL!

😊
Thank You!
@whatisnew
I truly do feel lucky. 💕Gratitude.
I live very near the water and a big marsh.
Plenty of mosquitoes / food.
So truly it is so see them swarm.
Amazing..🤗💕

I have picked your post for my daily voting initiative! Keep it up and Steem on!

🤗
Thank you very much @chitty
Greatly appreciated...!🙂
Steem On 🤗🦋

Gotta love it when they pose long enough for a closeup.

Posted using Partiko Android

🤗
@sketch.and.jam
So very true...💕 and I truly loved it.
It was content just long on the Globe for me get a picture.

Beautiful dragonfly eats mosquitoes. Segards @annephilbrick.

😊🌞
Hello..! @gertu
They do eat mosquitoes and other insects.
Dragonflies are most beautiful.

Not many dragonflies arrive in my garden. Even the ladybugs, which are my favorite insects, no longer come. Saludos. @annephilbrick.

Awesome capture @annephilbrick! I love seeing the lacy wings on dragonflies! They are welcome to my yard anytime and help themselves to the mosquitoes..lol.😉

😊
Thank You..!!
@deerjay
Their wings are so delicate and beautiful...!!!
A definite on the mosquitoes...they are welcome to indulge...☺ ...!

You're very welcome @annephilbrick! I totally agree!
I don't see them much at all in my yard but if they were then they would have a feast..lol. 🤣

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

🤗☺
Thank You very..very much !!
@theunion
Your support is greatly appreciated..💕☺😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43