Chatuchak park - my favourite in BangkoksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Bangkok is not just a big city full of skyscrapers, malls and traffic. There's quite a lot of parks scattered around the city.

Chatuchak Park is a large park in the north of Bangkok, and Chatuchak Weekend Market is just a few steps away. It makes a perfect evening stroll after exhausting bargaining at the nearby market. It can be a long walk too - the park covers 120 hectares - 120,000 sq m.

There is something for everyone at this park - some may walk or jog along the green tracks line or appreciate the beauty of nature. Others prefer to look at the fish from the bridges over the pond or row a boat. Or you can simply lie down by the lake.

The park’s central feature is its artificial lake, which stretches along the entire length of the park and makes for a great place to feed fish or even the occasional turtle.

But turtles are really hard to spot and take a picture and they are scared of people - they just go underwater when I come closer. (picture taken with telephoto lens)

I like to come here to relax and enjoy the greenery. Chatuchak Park has plenty of shaded areas where you can escape from the sun and watch the world go by.

Gardens are well kept with plenty of flower colour throughout the year.

There's lots of squirrels running around the trees after each other and fooling around. There's even a special place where people leave food for them - we tried feeding them with pineapples - they liked it - and then with in-shell peanuts - they were crazy about it! 😁

I took the above picture with a telephoto lens too - those squirrels are pretty cool about people feeding them but still don't like them to be too close

And then there's quite a lot of monitor lizards - mostly hanging out in one place near the lake, on the side opposite from where all the people walk.

Ones my bf was chasing one of those lizards to make video - they are really quick - and he lost sight of it between trees. I was a bit behind and saw more, so I spotted it then - it climbed on a tree! I didnt even know they can do that! Now we always joke about monitor lizards jumping on us from trees 😆

Overall Chatuchak park is tranquil and calm and great to relax after a busy day. It also offers a lot of photo opportunities as you can see 😉

All photos taken by me with Canon 550d.

Stay tuned for more photos of Thailand! 😇

follow

Sort:  

Everytine I see your post, you remind of my family vacation there.

great pictures! gave me a totally new impression of Bangkok :)

Thank you! :D

I love the light of the first picture ;)

Yeah, it's my favaourite photo :) thank you! :)

@anna-redhead
Good content
Keep sharing good posts!

Thank you, I will! :)

Congratulations @anna-redhead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Oh super nice... I've been in Bangkok years ago... but I only remember tuk-tuks and other crazyness!
Big hug
Steemitri The Mannequin

Been to Chatuchak weekend market on a very hot day, sweat like nobody's business. But I have never been to the park, nice photos as always @anna-redhead

Thank you! It's always soooo hot in Chatuchak market, it's crazy

Well done Anna.

look like such an amaing spot , will check it out the next time I get to visit bangkok

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72