You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discovering Unseen Beauty In Historical Places | Kalemegdan Photography Adventure

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Ah LL, this post speaks to me so much! I know exactly what you mean when you describe the feeling that draws you to this place... there is something about places like that , especially in Europe, where you find yourself appreciating how time ages things, the solitude and the peace of things and places that carry a lot of history. Its also the soft overcast of the clouds that makes you feel intimate with the place... it's definitely a beautiful yet melancholic moment... and i'm glad you were able to capture it so that you can always recall being there...

Before I read that it was built by the Ottomans, I actually recalled a fountain I photographed in turkey... there were a lot of moments like the one you described... especially around water ruins.

Were you able to drink the water from it?

Sort:  

Oh yes, you are so right there.. so many things seem to pull me to places like this.. the atmosphere, the time that once was.. even the clouds as you say probably play their part in that.

Oh I bet they are very similar, the ottomans were part of the Turkish empire so I bet the styles you are remembering are very similar!

I didn’t drink from this one.. honestly I was afraid to break it lol. It was very cold that day and he began to snow later on. I’m actually not even sure if it in fact is functioning or not. Next time I’ll have to give it a try though. Thank you for the lovely comment!

0091.jpg

Yes definitely a lot of similarities in the style... but not as intimate as the one you photographed...
My secret/sacred spot was an abandoned house with a large platform and torn sofas on the coast, that my friend and I found totally by chance...

0190.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49