Heart-shaped flowers : if you want to offer something more original than roses

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hello, I came across these peculiar flowers in a park in Toronto and I fell instantly in love with them. Delicate pink flowers suspended in the shape of hearts.

So I wondered why didn't I see more often of these flowers? It was the first time I saw these flowers and I didn't even know how they were called.

Now I know how they are called: Lamprocapnos spectabilis or for the most intimate, it is commonly called as "bleeding hearts", "lyre flowers" or "lady-in-a- bath".

Now I also know why they are not often used as a romantic gift: these flowers are a little toxic and can cause irritations. Still, they are beautiful. Even roses have spikes.

Beautiful heart shaped flowers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41