Katrina The Fresh-Water Mermaid

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Last year I got an awesome idea for a mermaid costume. I am not sure why this became an obsession but whatever I had to do to make this costume happen, I was going to do it. I grew up sewing and designing my own clothes, and had applied to FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology) in New York before discovering I was pregnant with my first child. I'm glad I chose the path of makeup artist but I sometimes find myself in a dual role of makeup artist and creative director or art director, so having some knowledge of other things that go into taking a photo shoot to the next level is really helpful.

Every makeup artist (and probably ever creative person) loves Halloween. I always try to do something cool but this is probably my favorite costume I've made. After it was done I wore it and did a simple photo shoot with it, but I wanted to see it and have it shot on an actual model. Katrina and I met last year when she was the model for my team's presentation for Aveda Catwalk for Water 2016 (I'll post about this sometime in the future, it was a great time and we became personal friends). She saw the costume in my house when I had a party and was excited to do a shoot with it. 

This was my first shoot working with photographer Emma Wondra, whom I have worked with multiple times since. She knew a great location and we all gelled really well together. 

The headpiece is a model pirate ship from a hobby store that was spray painted, decorated with a cameo, lace and ribbon, and attached to a headband with screws. The seashell bra is embellished with real sea shells, crystals and glitter fabric spray paint. Not shown well in the photos is the gold-embellished waist trainer with lock-and-key closures. Katrina provided the jacket which was made by a designer in 1905 and was donated to a second-hand store she worked in after being told it was too fragile to consign. 

I always include a behind-the-scenes photo when possible so here is Katrina and me touching up during the shoot. Afterward I took her to a Mexican fast-food restaurant for churros and everybody was loving her outfit! It's not every day you see a crazy mermaid pirate lady at Taco Johns.

Sort:  

Ahhh, so wonderful! I had a mermaid tail blanket for Christmas- maybe I need a shell top to go with it?

YES! That would be so cute. I saw some crocheted and knitted mermaid tail blankets and fell in love with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35