You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are black and white photographs just an illusions | Collection of my favourite shots so far

in #photography7 years ago

The first and fourth image tugg at my feels! Beautifully done set you have here.

Here's my approach to Monochrome(Black and White) Photography: I actually image more than 90% of my images in Monochrome. I shoot in Monochrome first and then refer to my RAW files if I recall there being a striking set of colors.

Regarding the psychology of an image, it is my belief that the more primitive areas of the brain are trained to analyze as little visual data as quickly as possible in any given context. As such, the mind first perceives contrast between objects to distinguish shapes. Then additional neurons are employed to perceive color and distinguish contrasts among colors as well. All of this done in the service of fight, flight or survival(hunting or foraging for food items).

I know some of this as it is related to Artificial Intelligence Neural Network classification work. Here there is a huge emphasis on classification costs. The lower the cost the more efficient the classification process. To say it simply - Images devoid of color lead the brain to process the composition more efficiently. OK, I've said too much already! Have a great day!

Sort:  

thank you very much and i kind of do the same i leave my camera in B/W mode and shoot RAW so if i do need the colour its there and WOW really interesting comment, but it makes sense when you think about it we are trained over time how to read images and create links through TV, books and everyday life we have a library of information thats unique to all of us through our experiences.

Meaning we all see the same thing but read it completely differently. But when you take it to the primitive level which is pretty much in our DNA like you said we are designed to visually just be able to separate objects from one another and the faster we were able to do this the better we would of been at hunting and surviving. So yeah maybe black and white photographs streamline this information making it easier for us to process visually.

Really interesting stuff on artificial intelligence you have just given me a new topic to read about man i love learning new things :)