Photography Tips anyone can learn #4 - Cropping & reflections

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

PHOTOGRAPHY TIPS 4.png

The following image continues the reflection theme I began in the first post in the series. It was taken on my iPhone 6S plus in Venice on a still, cold, January morning.

From where I was stood, there didn't appear to be much of a reflection at all, but I knew that by getting the lens closer to the water, I could make the most of whatever there was. I leant over the wall and held my phone as low as I could. From barely nothing to what you see below!

Venice-Reflection-Markup-AndyT.jpg

Obviously, holding a camera this way does create a problem with trying to frame the photograph accurately. So I did the best I could and cropped it afterwards to balance it better. If you have lines leading into the image from near a corner, you should always try to crop it in such a way that the line intersects the corner of the image, as in points 1 & 2. When you fail to do this, the photograph is rarely as strong.

Going back to my last post, on separation , I ensured that the chimney pot had a tiny bit of sky around it rather than being 'just' chopped off (point 3).

Here's the finished photo - resized for here but taken & processed all in phone.

Venice-Reflection-AndyT.jpeg

Please leave me a vote if this makes sense or you feel like you've learned something and ask away if you have any questions.

Ciao! - Andy

Sort:  

helpful article! thanks for sharing!

You're welcome!

So you make better photos with iphone 6s then me with my dslr, just great :) Technique > equipment

We sold our pro DSLR gear a few years ago and went mirrorless - to Fuji. We've never looked back with their kit and especially their wonderful lenses. That said, I always say that the best camera is the one you have with you - and in that sense my iPhone does just great :)

very good effort... water is so much dirty... the way you shoot these pics, marvelous..

Thanks! Dirty water: Yes - especially Venice. But, as you can see, if you can get nice and low, it can look very very different.

Great...excellent..
You are one..
@andytutner

Thanks - but the @ is @andyturner :D

Nice tip! I'd like to try this out myself

The cropping is super-important. I barely ever take a photo that isn't cropped afterwards.

Good post! Thanks for sharing!

Grazie mille :)


Very nice Upped!!


I blog, Photo Shoots of gorgeous Models Check out!


@arsalanahmed


Lo.jpg

Thanks - I'll stop by

Congratulations @andyturner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's some really good tips!
Did you do a lot with the colors also?

Hey there - no, the colours are just as I shot the photo. It's very rare that I saturate the colours as I feel that the photograph starts to look too processed very quickly.

Nice. I´ve got a lot to learn... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65723.04
ETH 3470.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45