Weird Statues around Woking Town in Surrey ~ Travel Photography 📷

in #photography5 years ago

Whenever I travel into my local town of Woking, either by bus or walking the more scenic route along the Canal path, I notice some statues that I have never seen before. Some are newly displayed, but many have been there for years, but I've just not noticed them before. Many of these statures are quite interesting with stories on the plaques or have a Charity theme, or support for a greater disabled awareness in some way.

I think the second photo down of the metal structure is something Alien relating to the famous Author H.G.Wells as I believe he lived near Woking, or the film version was made in the woods somewhere. Not absolutely certain about this to be honest.

The Cricket statues are cool though if you are a keen Sports fan, maybe you recognise the cricket man bowling or the other Cricket batsman Statue. I don't recognise either of them really, but then i'm hopeless at Sport to be honest! especially Cricket 😂

I think you can just about read the words on the "War Memorial" monument as being about those who lost their lives in the First World War (1914-1919) & WW2 (1939-1945). Both Wars being most sad events in our history and we should remember them all I think.

The Polar Bears are great fun, and always make me SMILE when I see them 😀

Anyway, take a look below and you will see what i mean...

IMG_0996 copy.JPG

IMG_0994 copy.JPG

IMG_1006 copy.JPG

IMG_1009 copy.JPG

IMG_1011 copy.JPG

IMG_1013 copy.JPG

IMG_1007 copy.JPG

I think this last one is definitely one of my favourites as it depicts the braveness and determination of the many Paralympic Games Competitors. Their courage always amazes me, and a constant inspiration to us all in my opinion, whenever we watch them perform.



All Photos 📷 Strictly Copyright ©2019 @andy-whaleshares
All the above Photos were shot with my Sony DSC-W17 Camera

This publication is "cross posted" from my personal WhaleShares [here]

Many Thanks for viewing my Travel Photography Article 👍
Bye for now, See you all again very soon... 👋

Sort:  

That's an interesting and pretty weird set indeed :)

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

Congratulations @axeman, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @andy4475!
@andy4475 got 0.48990600 TRDO & @axeman got 0.32660400 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you @axeman that's really AWESOMENESS 👍 TRDO

Really beautiful photography you have there @andy4475. Keep up the good work.

Interesting! I spent quite a long period working at client site in Woking a few years ago, never noticed these statues before

Yes, they just seem to appear every time I go to town, weird :)

I found this post thanks to @miti-blog work, and his Curation Project: Undervalued Deserving Contents. Your work deserves way better, I'm happy to give you my upvote. Cheers, Nicola @knfitaly

Coltellinaio per passione e non solo...

Trentino - Italy

Thanks Nicola, so much appreciate your kindness ~ Thanks to @miti-blog @knfitaly @miti √√√

It's a pleasure ;-)

These are really lovely statues!

Thanks Liz , much appreciate your comments √

Excellent photos. Cricket is the sport we love the most here.

BDVoter team

Ohh I know ! So many people in the World love Cricket √ Thanks for visiting!

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #421!

If you give @ocd a follow – you can find other Gems!


Check our website for the more information about our #newsteem attitude. Join our Discord channel to be part of our community


We also have a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

Thanks a lot @ocdb now following you √

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63574.15
ETH 3404.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54