You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Million Women Rise - March Against Violence

in #photography7 years ago

Great post and cool photos. Not sure what "charming men make dangerous lovers" means tho, it confuses me slightly. Im a charming person (usually) and Im not a dangerous lover. I feel like Im missing something for me to understand what she means.

Sort:  

Thanks Munky, appreciated. I think what she means (my interpretation) is that some charming men's charm is a very thinly veiled controlling behaviour. These are the men that take advantage of good natured individually women which can include violence, verbal and emotional abuse.

I think she means something like that. For me, the dramatic Irony or tension in this photo is the way that it seems that I charmed her to stop and take her photo. i think it shows a certain vulnerability and I'd like to think that like you, my own charm stems from a genuine interest and respect of others.

Like a double edged sword which can be wielded for good or bad depending on the holder.

Very true, I would say charm is something to be wary of, it makes me think of magic, a charm is something you put on people.

It just struck me as a strange statement, its the "make dangerous lovers" bit that confused me but I think you are right in your assumption of what she means.

charm has that connotation.. potion, spells, magic or for want of a better word (influence)

Now Iv got "I put a spell on you" going thru my head :)

God that is some good stuff, listening to this is like a drug!

yeah one of my all time favourites.. what a performer.. apparently john lennon heard this (he was getting imported vinyl from the US off a guy who had contacts on the cruise ships going to and from NYC to Liverpool and he was totally inspired by it !! (John went to the same school as I did in Liverpool).. In fact the film (Nowhere Boy) about John's early life as a teen at Quarry Bank makes a direct reference to john getting hold of Screamin Hawkins records ;)

Im not surprised, makes me wanna sing and play some stompin blues as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51