Кαλημέρα Greece!

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_3713_panorama_03.jpg

Кαλημέρα in Greece means "Good morning" or just "Hello"

Greece is a country of cats, sun, mountains and the sea, a country of hospitality and myths, a country of large portions in a cafe and olive oil, the country is known as a place where is everything.

I was in two-week trip to mainland Greece in May 2017. A lot of impressions, which I am ready to share, are pushing me from the inside. But, I will try to do everything sedately, so that the presentation would be foldable.

Greece for me is a country of myths about Hercules, Argonauts, about the gods of Olympus. In addition, Greece is a huge layer of culture on which modern European civilization is built. Well, of course, Greece is a beautiful, hospitable country, where I really wanted to visit.

It so happened that at the end of April, to the rolling, as always, unexpectedly, the date of my birthday, it was possible to go somewhere. To go to Greece.

The situation was complicated by the lack of a visa, but it's not tricky. I bought the cheapest ticket at the travel agency, including the flight and the cheapest hotel, I was given a visa for this business. The Greeks gave a visa for 3 years, which, in general, is not bad enough.

We got ready for 1 day and now we were rushing to our Scout (this is my car name) in Sheremetyevo (It's the name of airport in Moscow. We live in 350 km from Moscow).

Very quickly handing over the luggage and knowing with pleasure that you can carry free of charge 20 kg per person in luggage, we, as quickly, passed the customs control and almost immediately went on boarding the plane.

I really like airplanes. I am amazed that this multi-toned machine soars up with ease, incredible, as if someone is pulling it. And it seems to be clear that there are Bernoulli laws, the lift force of the wing and all the rest of physics, but it's still not clear how they fly at all!

Plus, of course, my grandfather was a pilot. True pilot-fighter. I remember he telling the story, after flying in the role of a passenger on a large liner, the story of how he was once transported to his military existence on the An-2 and he asked to sit at the helm. He was allowed to fly and he managed the plane for a while. After sharing his impressions. Oak, they say, heavy. Very slowly responds to the actions of the pilot in comparison with the fighter.

In a word, I like flying. Acceleration of the aircraft before the launch and take off into the sky is a special joy.

The flight from Moscow to Thessaloniki takes about 3 hours. A bit less. A soft landing at the airport of Macedonia and the open door of the plane was already bursting with fresh warm air from the Aegean Sea.

All tourists - like good people, go to touristics buses disciplined. I'm not .I always go to the part of the airport where the offices for renting cars are located. I'm waiting for travel and better to carry them on their wheels. I was too lazy to book a car in advance, but since the end of April is not the season for Greece, there was no problem with the presence of the car. Walked along the racks AVIS, EuropCar, Hertz, Budget ... At my request, get a small car, like Wolksvagen Polo or something like, put me some very high price tag. As a result, I stopped near the unfamiliar brand Avance. I asked the girl from this advance to calculate and received quite an interesting price. I asked what was for the office, and received an answer that it was a local Greek office and that she had a brand-new white Polo for two weeks for 280 euros. After a few more terms, We hit on the hands!

And now, I'm already rushing from the airport of Macedonia towards the center of Thessaloniki. Our hotel, which we got as a fee for a visa, was in the central part of the city, closer to the station. And then I met the first problem. Parking.

The whole city is just packed with cars. I did not see the traffic jams, the traffic is on, but there's just nowhere to park! Plus, a one-way system that is convenient, but if you do not know how the city is built, you need a little time to sort it out and navigate. In the end, a lot of turning around, threw the car in a paid parking lot, which accidentally turned up. Parking man takes away the keys, that it would be possible to park the car.

Leaving the car, went to the sea. The city embankment with the famous White Bash and the monument to Alexander the Great. Warm and beautiful. Sunset. Feeling of the beginning of vacation.

To be continued

Sort:  

This post has received a 11.11 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @amikphoto.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77