📷 Photo-worthy? Whats the price of this 4K action camera? #APC004

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

action camera.png

A subsitude to the all mightly GoPro, a brandless or private labelled action camera.

There are tons of seller for this action camera.

Ebay : $ 45 - $90
Amazon: $50 - $90
China online market : $24 - $27
China factory price: $22 - $27

The specs are standard 2.0" LCD screen, the main variations would be whether this is 4K and the extra equiptment it comes with.

I tried one of this for my diving adventure and it feels great! I will say it is comparable to GoPro and it is at a more attractive price point.

BUT!!! Why buy a GoPro when you can buy this?

There are a number of reviews stating how faulty this camera:
-Does not turn on.
-Poor image quality
-Software garbage
-Flickering

This GoPro copycat has made action camera extremely afforadable, but in terms of quality GoPro can't be compared to.
To me the two most important factors will be the warranty(GoPro has 1 year) and the quality control that comes with such a reputable brand.

The China copycat sold by some sellers could be a ripoff, in China the product can be customized to fit the price point you are looking for, from software to hardware, every single dollar can mean a better part or a newer software. The unethical seller can spec it to the lowest standards and stand to make the greatest gain. I am not saying there aren't good and cheap China made action camera, my buddy got his off amazon and it is perfectly fine.

So, will I buy this over a GoPro? Depends I guess, there are highly reviewed seller with warranty and quality control, making it a better bang for my dollar. Brand is not the factor of consideration for me, the quality of the memories it(the cam) captures is the main factor.

Let me know what you think are the differences between a shot from this VS a gopro.

Sort:  

Hmm a friend of mine also once used a fake ''Gopro'' camera on a holiday. But the moment you use it you just feels its fake and the footage it took was crappy as well.
I rather pay the real deal than sparing out money to get shit quality.

Nice review

Well at least it looks cool, just saw this on steemchat

It looks cool on the outside, but I sure hope no one buys a faulty one and it breaksdown on the TRIP, otherwise the China made cam is fine! Thanks for the response buddy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66924.38
ETH 3111.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75