The Golden Dragonfly ~ What did she say? Original photography.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

That touch of Gold:

That brings joy to our being:

That brightens up the dark spaces:

That Golden Dragonfly ~ That Summer. ~Ally.


The breeze at dawn has secrets to tell you. Don't go back to sleep. ~Rumi.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.


The lake and my first glimpse of the Golden Dragonfly.

In my previous article: The Golden Dragonfly I described the lake on the local golf course and its marshland surroundings, where I first saw the Golden Dragonfly. I also recalled my first glimpse of the Golden Dragonfly, after seeing a tiny flash of gold coming from the reeds ~Where all I could do was stand perfectly still and breathe in her golden beauty.

   

The symbolism of Gold.   

I almost rejected the image above as the dragonfly didn't seem to have enough contrasting colour to bring out her magical sparkle.

However in contemplating the rich symbolism of gold, this image simply couldn't escape being included.

Gold in its material form can convey affluence and social standing and is usually associated with great wealth and extravagance, elegance and prosperity. 

Yet beyond the material, gold relates to the power of the sun, higher ideals and wisdom ~ Inspiring one to reach a deeper understanding of the Self and the Soul.


I was dead, then alive. Weeping, then laughing. The power of love came into me. I became fierce like a lion, then tender like the evening star. ~Rumi.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.


Absorbing the energy of Gold

Absorbing the colour gold, which you can do by wearing gold or bright yellow ~ Visualizing gold or yellow ~ Or even looking at a golden image such as these dragonflies, can open your solar plexus centre to accept more abundance, love, compassion, courage, wisdom, creativity and magic into your life.

The energy of the solar plexus is about your personal power and honour, where taking care of yourself encompasses caring for others as well. 

When the energy of this area is flowing unrestricted, a clearer sense of self can be felt, with the resulting improvement of self worth and self confidence and the ability to 'manifest' not only in a financial sense, but in your overall well-being, relationships and abilities. 


  

Be grateful for whoever comes, because each has been sent as a guide from beyond. ~Rumi.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.


Collecting stray golf balls?   

I visited the lake on the local gold course several times a week, for just on 4 months, attempting to capture different aspects of the beauty of this exquisite creature.   

Every day was different so that unless you knew what you were looking for, you would have an extremely difficult time seeing the Golden Dragonflies.    

Recalling now how the occasional curious golfer would stop and ask what I was looking for amongst the reeds ~ Collecting stray golf balls? They would be so astonished when I was able to show them ~ The Golden Dragonflies that they had unknowingly been walking past so often.

 

  

Not only the thirsty seek the water, the water as well seeks the thirsty. ~Rumi. 

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.  

   

Reading the postures of the 'Golden Dragonfly.'   

In the same way that a dancer expresses a story or emotions through posture and gesture, I could see that the dragonflies were also expressing something through their ‘body language.’ Looking at the image above, it was as if the Golden Dragonfly was bowing in respect to the energy of water and so I called it: Prayer for the water.’ 


You were born with ideals and dreams. You were born with greatness. You were born with wings. ~Rumi.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.


Shamanic symbolism of Dragonfly.    

The Golden Dragonfly reminds us that we live in a world of never ending mystery and magic and that life is never what it may appear to be.    

She whispered to me to allow her essence to fill my being, and to know that once having been touched by her light and beauty, I can be more open to my own light and beauty.    

In this way I felt that the essence of the Golden Dragonfly was to perceive ALL beauty ~ Becoming aware that I am only able to perceive this beauty because it is within me as well.


Something opens our wings, something makes boredom and hurt disappear. ~Rumi.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.


Receiving the 'Energy of the Golden Dragonfly.'  

It may not be possible for you to go to a place that attracts different varieties of dragonflies ~ Let alone the Golden Dragonflies. However you may be able to visualize a dragonfly and/or feel its energy. Simply looking at these images of dragonflies, can initiate this process. 


You have seen your own strength. You have seen your own beauty. You have seen your golden wings. You are in truth the soul, of the soul, of the soul. ~Rumi.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.


The Golden Dragonfly ~ A new beginning.

The Golden Dragonfly appeared, physically at a very significant time for me: After not doing any major art work for 5 years, I was accepted by Sculpture by the Sea (An international environmental art event, held annually at Bondi, Sydney) to install an environmental sculpture. More about that in another article. 

Dragonflies also appeared in my dreams at this time. In my next article I'll describe one of the dragonfly dreams that I recorded and the insight I gained from it. 

  

Sort:  

Thanks so much. I'm happy that you like the Golden dragonfly. ♥︎🌟 ♥︎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83