The Golden Dragonfly. Part 3. Original photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

When the moon comes up to the shine of a face:
The birds are fast asleep.
The dragonfly frees herself of ages past:
Her rainbow wings to keep.

~Adapted from Loreena McKennitt.


This is my third article about the 'Golden dragonfly' that I photographed a few mornings a week over a period of four months.

The only way to capture these Golden dragonflies was to BE.

BE with my breath, BE with the sensation of mud squelching through my toes, BE with the gentle breezes of dawn, BE with the morning light, BE with the chill and warmth in the air, BE with the sound of rippling water and the songs of birds. BE with the stillness that allowed me to connect to the Golden dragonfly.

Dreams.

A few years back I had many dreams and experiences with owls. Owls just appeared from everywhere: In my dreams, in the surrounding streets, a print in a naturopath's reception area, and then in my own backyard.

After an exceptionally vivid dream of an owl with rainbow coloured wings, I began to incorporate 'the owl' into collage work I was doing at the time and embraced the owl as my totem creature.

The appearance of dragonflies.

Dragonflies started appearing in a similar way at a very significant time for me: After not doing any art work for 5 years, I was accepted by Sculpture by the Sea (An international sculpture event held at Bondi, Sydney) to create and install an environmental sculpture. Much more about that particular installation in another article.

The first dragonfly I was attracted to was while walking around the local lake. A golden flash amongst the reeds, that I help my eye upon as I walked towards it. As I came close, the golden glint from the wings took on more of a milky translucent appearance.

I didn't have my camera with me that morning but the next day at the lake at dawn, I most certainly did.

Dragonflies also seemed to appear wherever I went: The local creek was alive with Blue tailed dragonflies. The storm water drain area in my own backyard (being reclaimed as a mini 'rainforest' area) attracted tiny Red tailed dragonflies and then one day a Golden dragon delighted me with her presence there as well. And then the dream.

DRAGONFLY12a.300.2712.jpg

Let the beauty of what you love be what you do. ~Rumi.
Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.

My dream of the Rainbow Winged Dragonfly.

I had gone to bed asking for direction in my art work. Just before waking that morning I dreamed that I was awakening.

And as I was rolling back my bedcover I saw underneath it ~ Viewed from the bottom, a dragonfly, caught under the cover and bound by a very fine spider's web.

I reached down to the slightly crumpled dragonfly ~ Hoping she was still alive and would survive. On my open hand, I watched her free herself of the webs. She became GOLDEN ~ Beautifully glittering and GOLD.

I took the Golden dragonfly over to my window and released her. As she flew away the sunlight cast rainbows on her wings. The most beautiful creature I have ever seen ~ A golden dragonfly, with rainbow coloured wings, morphing to be both dragonfly and butterfly.

DRAGONFLY13.300.2712 copy.jpg

If you find me not within you, you will never find me. ~Rumi.
Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.

Freedom to experience newness.

I believe that every aspect of a dream reflects something within us. My immediate interpretation was that my spirit recognized that it has been bound and held back, to the point of depletion ~ But knows now that it CAN be freed and released from the dust of time. Free to be a creature of rainbow light. And with that freedom, a deepening appreciation of grace and beauty will enrich my being: The beauty of Universal Light is there to be felt by all ~ But the heart needs to be opened to receive.

I glean that (for me anyway) the dragonfly is strongly associated with awakening. And ever since I've been sharing these dragonfly images, so many people tell me they're also seeing so many more dragonflies all around them too.

And as I envisage my new journey:

I'm assured that it's time now to dust off any old remaining cobwebs from the past. To see again, as if for the first time the beauty of light and colour, within and without: That has always been there. And as this conversance settles, gain unlimited freedom.

1 dragonfly domain.7A.300.2712 (2).jpg

For I have been with you, from the beginning of me. ~Rumi.
Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.

Receiving the 'Energy of the Golden Dragonfly.'

The dragonfly is generally seen as the 'Light bearer' and a symbol of change. So that when we feel her essence touching our Soul ~ Maybe that's when her power to bring about change will be possible.

Simply looking at these images of dragonflies, I hope may help release your own ability to visualize and then inflame the energy of your own 'dragonfly.'

Previous articles.

The Golden Dragonfly http://bit.ly/GoldenDragonfly1
The Golden Dragonfly ~ What did she say? http://bit.ly/GoldenDragonfly2

Sort:  

nice post :)

Thanks so much @cryptocash. From owls and dragonflies with rainbow coloured wings to your beautiful cat with a rainbow tail and paws ~ With a flash over the eyes. 💖💜💙💚💛💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82