Testing my Pentacon at night

in #photography6 years ago

This summer I took our old, family SLR that stayed broken for a couple of decades and realized that I could actually use the lens.

It's fairly normal, 50mm Pentacon that you can find for about 20$.

Generally speaking, it's a "boring" lens.
It will not create any weird bokeh, flares, nothing...
It's as boring as Canon 50/f1.8.

Let me show you some examples I took during the night.
Helios sometimes annoys me at low aperture numbers because the flares are... Artistic...

Here's the first photo. There is no notable vignetting, sharpness is reasonable but not great and the contrast is fair.

DSC06680.jpg

Bokeh is very "neutral", no prominent hallos.

DSC06674.jpg

Now, the flares. Those are very discrete and a bit blue-ish and you can easily detect and remove them in postprocessing.

DSC06678.jpg

DSC06666.jpg

Short conclusion


For night conditions, this ultra-cheap lens performs very well.

I'll test it more in the daylight and according to my previous experience, it's not the best imaginable. But you will see

Sort:  

The results are nice, not stunning but pretty.
You just reminded me that I need to test my 50mm I've had for a month now. I'm still trying to learn with my 18-55mm and haven't touched any of the other lenses yet...

It will open you the whole new world of Bokeh! :D All the proportions will be just right, people and building will be +20% nicer

I need to find some time to "test" it! Everyone has been praising this lens, you get me curious...

It's as boring as Canon 50/f1.8.

Heeeeeey, it has feelings you know?!?

It's "marriage material" in the world of lenses :D

Lensbaby is a one night stand
Helios is impossible relation you want to foster
Any f/1.4 is "zgadna" or a bit crazy but hot
f/1.2 expects you to have Visa Gold
And Leica is the Princess of Monaco

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80