An amateur's photos in downtown Caracas.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Although I enjoy artistic expressions a lot, I think I'm not very good at creating them, that's why I mainly focus on admiring and analyzing art in general. I made these two photos on Bolívar Avenue in mid-2017, with a phone that had a 5 megapixels camera, I would have liked to have a higher quality camera at that moment, but if I had had it, maybe I would not have taken the risk of capturing the scene, I will explain why.

I have always been quite impressed by the streets and avenues that are lost on the horizon due to their extension, such as the Avenue des Champs Elysées in Paris or the intersection where is located the Obelisco de Buenos Aires, I have not yet been able to visit these places but I hope someday to be able to do it. The open spaces and the long lines have something that catch me and I still can’t decipher it, Edward Hopper in his painting reflects it very well.

At first I was a bit afraid to take my phone to capture the image (Caracas is possibly the most dangerous city in the world and robberies are very frequent) but I finally decided to do it, at that moment i didn’t consider any technical aspect to get a good photograph, I simply wanted to capture that long avenue surrounded by buildings. I didn’t want either to edit the image with a filter that could make it more captivating, I only was seeking to express the major possible naturalness.

There are very few cars, well yes, the crisis has drastically reduced the number of vehicles in the city. Our large avenues designed to receive a large number of vehicles seem to have been relegated as a mere ornament of the city with a purely decorative purpose.

From the point where I took the photo, there is a statue of our Liberator, Simón Bolívar, reminding us who owes the name of this avenue. Behind him is the Palace of Justice of Caracas, an imposing building with a beautiful facade on the outside, but that inside and its surroundings its structure is in decline.

I would have loved to take pictures from different angles and positions in the place that I was, but at that time it seemed a bit risky, the area is quite nice to look at and although chaos abounds in its surroundings it's still inspiring.

In this image of Wikipedia you can appreciate in detail the place from where I captured the images

My recent posts

Review of "Liberty leading the people" by Eugene Delacroix
Review of "The starry night" by Vincent Van Gogh
Review of "The persistence of memory" by Salvador Dali
Review of "The birth of Venus" by Sandro Botticelli
Review of "The creation of Adam" by Michelangelo

Sort:  

Excellent travel photos!

Understandable using an older camera in areas where crime is high, your photo turned out well, it is in the composition that you achieve the feel.

The arches in the background give a feeling of framing down into the yonder @alejandromata

Thanks, i appreciate a lot your comment.

What time of the day was it? That zone is usually packed with people in my experiences being there, did you get robbed?

It was around noon and there were not many people in the area, which worried me a little. Luckily I was with some friends and everything went well.

Muy bien los elementos en las imágenes, Caracas hermosa...

Si, a pesar de toda esta situación tenemos que hacer lo posible por encontrar el poquito de belleza que queda en la ciudad.

Muy buenas fotos, la que mas me gusto fue la primera.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

From your pics, it seems that this is a beautiful place. But why are there more robbers in this place??? Upvoted by rubelynmacion

Nice post, keep it up. Kryptonia id @chetachi26

You got a 24.72% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @alejandromata!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Excelentes fotos, a pesar de su locura y caos, Caracas sigue siendo una ciudad unica

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58