15 rolls in 15 days - Day 9 - Embracing the storm

in #photography6 years ago

Today started out like any other day, the sun was shining and a light breeze swept through open windows of my room. I thought this will be a normal day of photographing, but just as I got downtown to shoot another episode for my challenge, the dark clouds gathered and brought with it rain and crazy storm.

Making amazing photographs is rarely easy and one has to work hard for it. I love rain so it wasn't a big challenge to step in the rain without umbrella and try to capture people running for shelter. The only thing I had to be careful of is to keep the camera as dry as possible.


If you have been following this series from the start, you know I have been shooting digital, but with certain limitations to make the experience remind of film photography. Here are the guidelines I keep in mind:

  • Max 36 photos per day
  • Post at least 10 photos each day
  • Turn off LCD screen so not to review images

In the first part of this series I wrote about the reasons behind this little personal project. Mainly, it's to slow down my photography process, think about every composition and to prepare myself for getting into film photography. I'll post my impressions and lessons learned at the end of it.


Photos from day 9


Why not a few wet self portraits to finish this one :)


See you tomorrow :)

Sort:  

Without a doubt, these images are the best of the best. The photos of the people being blown by the strong wind are superb!
I never dare to do photography while under the rain or storm like that. I did a shot of the incoming storm before, but I took shelter before it reached me. Im too worried about my only camera :D
And by the way, that's a cool self portrait :-)

Hehe I'm glad you enjoyed these! It was a risky decision to walk in that rain without a weather sealed camera. Looks like I get away with it this time. :) But I was holding my hand above it the whole time and wiping it with the t-shirt every 30 seconds. :)
It was fun watching people and umbrellas struggle with wind and rain.

I was laughing hard on the overturned umbrella :D in that kind of wind, you will be needing a stronger one :-) In the first image, I felt the guy's struggle to move against the wind :-( I hope he made it through.
I wouldn't dare soak my baby (sony rx1r), even on a mist, lol. But considering the kind of result like your photos, maybe I would, for the sake of art :-)

Wow that first shot!! It really speaks to the wind and rain you mentioned!! Poor guy.

Love the two umbrella shots too. All shots are clear again and crisp.

The photo of the screen is interesting too.

Great selfies...:)

Thanks! :)

The first man was really struggling with the wind and rain! Funny, people were either freaked out, running for any kind of temporary shelter or having the best time of their life in that rain. :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 23:14:56
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 140.92/200.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Pitty umbrellas and good shots

Umbrellas were useless today. :) Thanks!

Uf uhvatio si momentat kad je odjednom samo pukao vetar i oluja juce, odlicni momenti @alcibiades!

Na pravom mestu u pravo vreme. :) Hvala!

Good stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63