15 rolls in 15 days - Day 13 - Quick photo walk on a busy day

in #photography6 years ago

I was having a crazy day and only had an hour of free time to squeeze in the photo walk for the challenge. The light was really strong on this open path by the river, so making great photos was almost impossible. Hope you like these anyway.


If you have been following this series from the start, you know I have been shooting digital, but with certain limitations to make the experience remind of film photography. Here are the guidelines I keep in mind:

  • Max 36 photos per day
  • Post at least 10 photos each day
  • Turn off LCD screen so not to review images

In the first part of this series I wrote about the reasons behind this little personal project. Mainly, it's to slow down my photography process, think about every composition and to prepare myself for getting into film photography. I'll post my impressions and lessons learned at the end of it.


Photos from day 12



See you tomorrow :)

Sort:  

This is a great challenge! I can't keep up with your posts! Usually, I see everything you share, but posting every day I haven't had time! Haha. Great work though, even with the limitations. I love the convenience that digital brings; I wonder about trying this challenge myself...

Haha I know right! :D This challenge was also started so it makes me post more regularly. I would definitely recommend this challenge based on my experience. You can tweak the details so it suits you best.

I like that you’re allowing yourself to get the best shots in 36 tries only. I know it is rather easy to hold down the click button, get a thousand shots, and choose from the best one. But, the limited number of shots forces one to really look at what one is shooting and get into the right position.

You summed up my motivation for this challenge nicely. :) When shooting digital it's easy to fall into a spray-and-pray mentality and don't put effort into finding great compositions.

I’m thinking of doing a challenge like this for myself using an iPhone. Thanks for the idea.

Go for it. I forgot to charge batteries on day 7 and had to shoot with my phone. It was fun. :)

You did great - a whole hour!! bahaha.....yikes. I usually take the day as I am sure you do for more of your shoots.

The shadows on the second photo are perfect....you must have had the sun on the other side of the river. It's a great shot!

Other notable ones that I enjoyed are -

  • the people fishing
  • the lady and her child biking
  • the couple laughing and walking

Only two more days!! What will you do with your time?? lol

Thank you! :D Usually I shoot for about 2-3 hours, but I spend couple extra hours on transport, sitting in a restaurant or just relaxing somewhere... I don't like to rush things when it comes to photography, just like you. :)

Yeah, the sun was coming from across the river and made some nice shadows, but I also had to keep my own shadow out of the compositions.

Tomorrow is the last day, I have not been this active since I started photographing. My goal is to continue shooting almost every day and do different kind of projects that I mentioned in one of my earlier posts. This challenge was a great motivation!

That's a ridiculous time limit, that 1 hour would easily be spent for my planning and scouting of the area :D
Anyway, with the result that you came up to, you did really good for this session. I like the bicycle shots in particular, they look as if they were frozen in time :-)
The lighting maybe harsh but you still manage to balance it. Every photo is still in perfect tune. Your just a few days before this series ends. I hope that you still pursue a sequel for it, because I'm enjoying and learning a lot from it :-)

Haha, it's definitely short interval for an important shoot. :D I like to take 5-6 hours when I go outside and really take my time, walk slowly, absorb everything and enjoy the experience.
I'm glad you like the photos! I will make a sequel to this series, probably when I'm on a vacation this summer. But this time it will be with an analog camera. :)

That's awesome! I'm quite sure that there will be a different effect on it. I remember when I first use my analog camera, there is some sort of blurring and artistic appeal on it, which I really like. It gave my photo a classic look.
That effect should work great with your subjects and the location you are in. I'm looking forward to your sequel :-)

These are great, I will be sad when the series is over! I love the blue tones in these ones, was that just something accidental ??

Thank you! Extremely bright day with the slight edit I usually do for this series, gave the photos a blueish vibe. It was pretty tough to post process.
I will be doing a sequel to this series in a few months while on vacation, only with an analog camera. :) Have you considered doing something similar?

Oh I see, well it looks great!
I can't wait to see those !!
Yes I have actually, I think its a really good idea, I will try and think of a project! Yours has really inspired me!

Do you want me to resteem your blog post to over 32,800 followers and many viewers to get more upvotes? For more info. go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Wow So amazing photography. Thanks for sharing

Great collection of photos, as usual.
:)

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80