Hummingbirds

in #photography5 years ago

Hi everyone! Today, I want to share some photographs I took of hummingbirds. I find it really tough to capture hummingbirds because they are just so fast and my equipment/knowledge is very limited. But, here is my best attempt.
I hope you like them!


IMG_7516 2.jpg
Hummingbirds are not super nice to each other. I find them quite aggressive towards each other. They seem to tell each other off and attack each other...a lot.
IMG_7519.JPG
They also seem to have very sensitive hearing. This guy was definitely reacting to my camera clicking.
IMG_7513 2.jpg
He looks rather unimpressed with me. Doesn't he?
IMG_7518 2.jpg
If you have ever wondered if hummingbirds have eyelids. Here is your answer hahaha. I guess he had enough of my taking pictures.
IMG_7713 2.jpg
I wish this one had been facing me, but alas she is not. I think it's an OK picture of a hummingbird butt anyway.
IMG_7714 2.jpg
More hummingbird butt.
IMG_7721.JPG
And from a different angle. Don't her feathers kind of look like fish scales? Weird right?
IMG_7482 2.jpg
I tried to catch some mid-flight too. It's not easy! They beat their wings soooo fast!
IMG_7492 2.jpg
The colours are really pretty on this one.
IMG_7493.JPG
Same hummingbird coming in for more.

Have a wonderful day everyone!

-Akiroq

Sort:  

Hello! A pleasure♡

Let me tell you that I know the work you had to go through, I really congratulate you and I applaud you because those birds are not easy at all, the catches are beautiful, you are the best...

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your kindness. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Beautifully timed and captured photos. I love hummingbirds.

Thank you so much. I am working hard to challenge myself so I can learn new things and improve my photography. I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

I think it's important to comment and support people, now more than ever, to build up connections with people on this platform. Plus, effort should be rewarded.

Yes, I try to do that every day as well. If we all did that, it would have an impact. I agree. I know I appreciate it very much when I get a comment, or when someone responds to a comment I have made. It gives a feeling of community and belonging.

I love these captures Akiroq!!!

The humingbirds are so cute lol. Even though they seem a little angry about the photos, in a strange way they seem a bit curious too. I love the mood you captured with them, as well as still wing frames.
Your camera has great shutter speed. Surely a slow shutter speed and the wings would be blurred. They flap those wings up to 70 times per second!

Great job as usual. <3

Thanks, Jacob. Thank you for all of your encouragement!
Yes, hummingbirds seem to have a bit of an attitude, but they are oh so beautiful. Thanks. This camera is limited but I do my best. A lot of duds to get a few nice pics...but in my opinion worth it.

More coming tomorrow. <3

Hahaha, this one was very patient with you :) I like that one with closed eyes. It's like he was thinking: Are you EVER going to stop this nonsense? :D

Great shots! The focus is very good, colors are deep and vibrant and your model is perfect :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Haha. Yes, it really seemed like the hummingbird was tired of my camera clicking. Maybe they have very sensitive hearing?
Thank you very much.
Have a wonderful day as well.

Congratulations @akiroq! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi akiroq,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much. What a wonderful surprise. That made my day! Thank you!

Thank you so much. What
A wonderful surprise. That
Made my day! Thank you!

                 - akiroq


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

This was not intentional, but it was amusing. :D Made me smile and laugh.

Wow! These are beautiful shots!!! I love the shots with the hummingbird flapping its wings to get food. You captured it perfectly!!! 😍😍

Thank you for sharing your photography skills with us, and for showing us the beauty of hummingbird. You are very talented @akiroq. Thank you so much! 😊

Thank you so much! I really try my best. There is so much to learn. I was fortunate to get some good shots. Thank you for the encouraging words. I appreciate them.

Hahaha! You are very modest. 😉 You did well. Please keep it up. 😊😊

Thank you.

You're most welcome dear. 😉

They are so cute. I love how one of them just looked right at the camera. Those are really good photos, up close. What camera do you use?

They are very beautiful, and I don't see them very often. I was very fortunate to have this opportunity. Thanks for the compliments. My camera is: Canon PowerShot Sx60 Hs I am hoping very much to get a camera with a zoom lens for macros. But this camera is the best camera I have ever owned. I recommend it.

Oh cool. I have a Canon Powershot SX730 HS. It has a macro thing on it but I've not figured out how to use it well yet. I need to go back to the manual. Whenever I zoom in, regardless whether I'm in macro mode or not, I lose focus. So far, I play with the depth of field to get better focus, but I want to be able to focus well even zooming in. The best zoomed in shot I was ever able to get with it was when I zoomed in on the moon. The SX730 has a lot of auto functions that can turn off and back on with various other settings and I need to find which ones do what. I use it a lot for video too.

Yeah, the zoom on mine is really touchy when it comes to focus. But since it is digital, I can take a lot of pics and not worry about having to delete some. I have the same issue if I zoom in too much, it won't focus. I am pretty neurotic about keeping my lens clean. Plus, I start taking pictures from further out and then gently zoom in, snapping pics along the way. I have to zoom very slowly and make sure that my subject is my focal point, and not something to the side, or the background. I have had this camera since they first came out. I am slowly learning over time. There are a lot of functions I rarely use. Overall, I enjoy it and for me it's a great camera. I really like Canon. This is the first Canon I have ever owned. I don't use the macro function to take macros oddly enough. Maybe I should try it. I normally use auto or hybrid auto. I haven't been able to use this camera for video because it cuts off at 8 minutes. I haven't figured out why, or how to stop it from doing that. The quality of video is incredible though.

Mine cuts off after 20 minutes or so of filming. I think the video size determines that.
I will try to zoom in really slowly, see if it changes the blurriness I tend to get. We'll figure our canons out at some point.

Posted using Partiko Android

I never thought that it might be the video size. Genius. I will see if I can figure out how to adjust it and try that. I remember the video quality is insane. So that really makes a lot of sense! Thanks!

A pleasure 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Cómo se pronuncia
I want to tell you that I really liked your photographs and I enjoyed them. Especially when the hummingbird was flying because the sensation of movement was perfect. Kind Greetings @akiroq

Se pronuncia: Ah keyrock
Thank you so much! I appreciate the compliment. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Sending kind greetings to you as well.

Hello @akiroq
It is wonderful to be able to observe carefully these tiny birds and that they are also so fast. It is true that you must have an extraordinary patience to be able to capture these beautiful and spectacular images for our eyes. They are fantastic!
Greetings from Venezuela!

Thank you! That is so nice of you to say. Very appreciated and it encourages me.
I send you warm greetings back from Mexico. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75