12 Pictures: Butterfly, Hornet, Dragonfly, Moth, and flowerssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

Hi Everyone. Today was another exceptional day. I had fun out there with my camera today. I was lucky enough to get some nice shots. I am excited to share them with you over the next few days.
I hope you enjoy them!


IMG_8051.JPG
I don't often see hornets. This one was very large. I was lucky enough to get a couple photos.
IMG_8052.JPG
Another angle on the same hornet. So pretty!
IMG_8080.JPG
Check out this moth! I have never seen one like it before! I almost didn't see it because it blended in so well. Does anyone know what type of moth this is? SO unusual looking!
IMG_8091.jpg
Yesterday, I was talking about wishing to photograph the white butterflies around here. Today, when I set out, I was determined that today would be the day. And, after chasing at least 100 of these today...I finally FINALLY had my chance. It is not the greatest specimen, but alas I did get a couple of pictures of one of these butterflies. I swear these butterflies know I am trying to take a picture of them and purposefully work to elude me. Haha.
IMG_8093.JPG
I was even able to flip the camera vertically and capture a shot that way! They have aqua blue at the end of their antennae which matches their eyes. It is more evident in the younger specimens (which are more white). Very pretty butterflies.
IMG_7772.JPG
I spotted this gorgeous flower. I mean really, is this beautiful or what?!
IMG_8086.JPG
And, this delicate white flower. I love the layers.
IMG_8059.JPG
These dragonflies are quite common around here.
IMG_8060.JPG
Zoomed out a bit.
IMG_8069.JPG
I think it's mating season? Lol. I don't know what is going on here...
IMG_8072.JPG
Almost the same picture, but a larger version.
IMG_8075.JPG
I prefer a blurred background, but it's still OK, I think.

Have a wonderful day everyone!

I will be back tomorrow with more pictures.

-Akiroq
image0b.jpg

Sort:  

I love these captures Akiroq!

The moth and buttery photos are quite exceptional. Some moths are known to let humans get very close. Remember when we were doing some research on moths and saw that giant list of species in just one US state alone? Makes you wonder how many species there are worldwide, and how many are not even discovered yet!

Great job as usual! <3

I was amazed by that moth. What a lucky find. Yeah! I was totally thinking of all of those amazing moths we were looking at when I saw it and photographed it. I think we even looked at one that was very similar. I know right. Nature is so amazing. So many things that virtually go unnoticed. This is one of the reasons I love being behind the camera. I just notice and appreciate so much more! Yes, this moth let me get close and didn't seem to mind one bit. Surprising since butterflies are usually the opposite.
I was so determined to capture a shot of those elusive white butterflies. It took me hours. But I did it, finally. Finally. Goes to show what can happen when you are determined! <3

Loading...

White flower and white butterfly are beautiful.

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59096.52
ETH 2516.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46