My 4 Rupee Ferry Ride?

in #photography5 years ago

On the third day of exploring the gorgeous city of Cochin, I decided to visit venues from the biennale which were a little further away. I chose to stay at Fort Kochi, which was the central location for the biennale itself and one of the art gallery exhibition was at Ernakulam, which can be commuted via cars or ferries. The timings for them are pretty decent too, starting at around 9 am and ending at 6 pm.

I had never experienced a proper ferry ride and really wanted to see the lake views so I headed over to the Ferry station and to my surprise the ticket costed just 4 Rupees for a 20 minute journey! To be honest I don't think I have ever commuted this cheap before I chose the ferry.

IMG_4240.jpeg

IMG_4238.JPG

There were about 20-25 people including me who were waiting for the ferry to arrive and even though the humidity was rising, I was pretty excited :D As soon as the ride started I got an almost 180 degree view of the Cochin Port Office in the Willingdon Island (above).

Untitled-2.jpg

Untitled-1.jpg

IMG_4244.jpg

IMG_4247.JPG

IMG_4251.JPG

I think I also got to see an aircraft carrier somewhere in the Vembanad Lake which by the way is also the longest lake in India. The ferry was smoother than I thought it was gonna be and provided good views of some gorgeous hotels in the smaller parts of land. All that was missing throughout was my sketchbook and paint.

I swear I could have stayed in the ferry for a couple of hours and do some plein air painting, only if there was a way to hold it at a spot :P I got off to visit the the Durbar Hall art gallery in Ernakulam (next blog) which took me about 2-3 hours before coming back to get on the ferry again to reach Fort Kochi before sun down.

IMG_4258.jpeg

IMG_4285.jpeg

IMG_4257.JPG

IMG_4286.jpeg

IMG_4291.JPG

IMG_4301.JPG

IMG_4304.JPG

IMG_4306.jpeg

IMG_4308.JPG

IMG_4311.JPG

IMG_4315.jpeg

IMG_4320.JPG

IMG_4321.JPG

maps eve.jpg


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

Good post...

Posted using Partiko Android

...and good photographs!

Thanks a lot :)

You got a 68.83% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @aishwarya! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

A very economical and fulfilling ride indeed :)

Hehe yep :)

Hello @aishwarya excellent photos and it is very good that you share and tell us about your trips, EH learned a lot watching your post and have a great reference of an artist like you is an honor greetings from Venezuela

Thank you so much, will be sharing more in the future :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43