One of the last sunsets of 2011

in #photography6 years ago

Hi Steemit people!

I told you before that I decided to show you my photography work although I am still an amateur (:

Today I will show you some of the first pictures I took with my first and only serious camera (a Fujifilm FinePix S2950). Of course they are shitty because they were my firts shots, but I would really like to show you some of them.

My mother gave me this camera on October 2011 as a Christmas gift (before Christmas heheh). On December I went to my hometown for the holidays, on the 27th day I was rolling around in the car with my mother and when the sun was about to set I started taking some pictures :D


I'm kind of obsessed with the golden hour and I think it can be seen in this photo:

Ending year

It is a very simple photo, but I like the color of the sky (you'll see why is it like that later) and that street light already turned on. Quite simple but quite meaningful, maybe minimalist (it says a lot in too little).


Then, we rolled to a very cute park near the sea in which you can see the sun set into the sea. This park is called "Paseo Los Chaguaramos", if you open the link of the pictures you will go to my flickr profile and in there you can see the exact location of this park. I really like this place because it is on a kind of cliff and you can watch the sea from it while you are running or using the machines in order to do exercises. I used to go there every time I could. There I can enjoy two of my favorite things together: the sea and sunsets.


So we started following the sun:

Following you...

I liked the silouhettes in this pic, you can see the different kind of plants in there, and I love how the sun is right behind that peak.


When we were almost arriving to the park I saw this little boy "thinking about life", and I couldn't help taking a photo:

I'm a child..

The little boy's pose just made me think he was worried about something, and that plus the very melancholic landscape behind him just told me I had to take the pic. I felt his kind of "worry" was like the one of this Devendra Banhart song I invite you to listen for you to understand better how I felt this boy might be feeling that evening (:


My hometown has some of the biggest refineries in the world. This thing is called a "Mechurrio":

Mechurrio

My hometown, Punto Fijo, is located in the southwestern coast of the Paraguaná Peninsula and has the world's second large oil refinery complex, right after the Jamnaga refinery in India and followed by the Uslan refinery in South Korea; this thing is from the Cardon refinery that is part of the complex together with the Amuay refinery.

It is funny because I grew up watching these big refineries and thought it was normal they were that big, and when I knew they were the second largest complex I got surprised, but apart from that it made me re-think several things about how we percieve and appreciate things in the world, and they started to look even cuter (in the night heheh) than before. Well, this is the reason why the horizon looked so "blurred". As someone commented in the photograph "it looks post-apocalyptic".


Also, because of the smoke from the "mechurrio" is all spread in the horizon it is that you cannot see the sun:

Western coast

Here the sea is! :D They call this city "the city of wind" and if you look at the water you will see why. In fact, it is a very windy city, I used to tell my mother that it wasn't worth the effort of combing my hair because when I got out of the house the wind did its thing! Actually, in some corners inside the city you may fall off and get run over. In here you can watch how the wind pulls the surface of the water and that blurred orange horizon hiding the sun.


These two pictures are some of my favorite ones:

Where is the sun?

Literally the golden hour, no day but no night yet, here you have a better view of how the horizon gets blurred.

Who loves the sun?..

I love this one because of the colors, the orange and the purple; and how poetic it is!


Then, my best "mechurrio" photo!

Contaminating..

The shapes and symmetry in here are almost perfect, those two street lights in the back are just amazing.


This is the neighbourhood the park is located:

Maraven

This is the street right in front of the park; as you see, if you go down the street you will arrive to the Cardon refinery. You can see part of the neighbourhood and some lights already turned on because of the coming of the night.


The paintings!

Cujíes.

Hey girl! What's up?

I really love these ones! They are like paintings, you can see the sea with a little ship on, that fiery sky and of course, the cute tree from my hometown called "Cují", one emblematic tree from Venezuela.


I took some better photos after theses ones in some new occasions that I will show you later. Sunsets are one of my favorite things in the world and the thing I like the most to take pictures of. I'm kind of melancholic and I relate this to how much I love and enjoy sunsets, I often remember what the little prince said once:

"You know, one loves the sunset, when one is so sad...".

I think it is inevitable that when the final days of the year come you may feel a little bit nostalgic, and that is the thing with enjoying sunsets while sad, you become nostalgic.

As is said, I will keep on showing you my sunsets, this was just the first one and the rest are always better than the previous one. Tell me if you liked it or not! :D

Thanks for watching and reading!

Sources:

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-13T19:36:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 7.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

well,good pic. keep it up

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ailindigo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello, I am the adming of the facebook group ''Steemit for Resteem ↕''. Please follow our rules : Steemit for Resteem Economic System ↕. We are working hard to improve this.

Geniales tus fotos, amo punto fijo, en esa banca he visto unas de las mejores vistas de mi vida, amor infinito hacia el mar también, y logre capturar par de atardeceres, es una tierra muy mágica la verdad. Buena esa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16