First Attempt at night time astrophotography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I threw on some extra layers to try and keep warm. I didn't know how long it would take but I figured id get pretty cold trying to do it. So grabbed the little cannon 100D a tripod and set off outside to see if I could give nighttime astrophotography a bash.

From looking online the things you need are:

  1. High ISO
  2. Wide aperture
  3. Long exposure time
  4. A nonlightpolluted place

I thought I had all 4 ticked off the list but I didn't.
I had been playing with the camera during the day and figured out how to change all the settings. So I set up in what I thought would be a good spot.......it wasn't.
The camera clicked open for 15 seconds, I waited to see what the first shot would be like........it was all just white.
you couldn't make out a single object in on the screen.
there was too much flooding the camera lens.

I adjusted the setting but it didn't really help, Changing direction the camera was pointing did give some change and you could start to make out some trees in the image.

After about 5 Mins of playing with the setting, stars were starting to appear on the screen. The glow of the city and local street lights properly ruined the pictures. Basically, I need to find a place that is super dark with no light pollution about. In the end, I was rocking a 2.5-second exposure a 32000 ISO and an f3.5 aperture (widest it would go).

All in all the night wasn't a total disaster, I learned about the camera and how it works. I learned what not to do.
After all, is said and done the pictures are terrible. But at least I know what to do next time I set up and find a dark corner of the countryside.

Id say this is the best I got last night, Pretty awful but at least you can kind of see something in it.

IMG_5292.JPG

Sort:  

great picture! where about are you located? looks like a big city nearby or a super nice sunset! but great post going with it! i wish more people would write like you about their photos! i hope to see plenty more stuff like this from ya! keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47