You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Black and White or Colour? Which is Better? - "Breeze" - Portrait of Rachelle

in #photography8 years ago

The b/w version looks professional and pretty much perfect in terms of lighting, gradation, balance etc.
The colour version is nowhere near the same standard. Colours appear artificial and are also conflicting with each other - without that conflict telling any discernible story.

Sort:  

I think you put into words very eloquently why I prefer the BW version.

The colour version is also virtually straight out of the camera with very little work on it. The BW version has had a lot of subtle adjustment to the toning. I just find it much easier to get it "right" in B&W.

It also shows how subjective this is though because to some people I've shown them both too they much prefer the colour which was originally quite a surprise to me. I think the BW does help by removing some of the colour distraction.

There is also the issue of faithful colour reproduction (or lack thereof) on computer screens.
The colour image will look vastly different on each user's screen.

Yes but I always keep my screens calibrated. I think a lot of it is subjective - screens can only represent a small part of the colour spectrum and I think that is part of the problem and some people are more sensitive to that than others. If you go for pure accuracy then you tend to lose some of the vibrancy of the real world, if you go more for vibrancy then some realism is lost. It is always a compromise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.98
ETH 2460.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62