ADSactly Photography: As Stone of Sea - A Photo Essay

in #photography5 years ago

Own photo

Greetings, friends of @ADSactly:

Making an indirect homage to the Venezuelan narrator and poet Francisco Massiani (deceased in April of this year), author of the novel Stone of sea, I paraphrase his metaphorical phrase, to present you some of my own photos taken a few years ago in the pleasant beach "Las Maritas", of Mochima (Sucre, Venezuela), in better times frequented with my friends. And I decided to accompany them with a poem of mine titled "Stone" (it belongs to my poetry book Breviario de sombras - "Shadow Brievary"). The poem is inspired by the myth of Deucalion and Pirra (which contains another version of the origin of men).

The photos were taken with a Kodak EasyShare CD82 camera.

(...) I started looking for stones. I collected the small ones in white, red and black; when I gathered more than ten, I sat down and made a severe selection. Two whites and one black (...) passed the exam. I remember that the black one I took to a very high rock, and sitting on the rock, I let it fall on a well. (...) The stone sank nervously until it hit the bottom and became mute.

Francisco Massiani. Stone of sea

#



STONE

I

Bones of the earth
sprouted from the submerged world
we are
pebbles sown
on the first footprints


author's own photo

author's own photo

author's own photo

II

The mystery shines
in our deluge skin
generation twinned in the holocaust
born of a chance of dust
of a destination.
thrown behind his back


author's own photo

author's own photo

author's own photo

III

Our nakedness emanates from the stone
weathering of bodies
dawns on the mud


author's own photo

author's own photo

author's own photo


Author: @josemalavem



Click the coin below to join our Discord Server

Adsactly Logo Newest 300dpi.png


We would greatly appreciate your witness vote

To vote for @adsactly-witness please click the link above, then find "adsactly-witness" and click the upvote arrow or scroll to the bottom and type "adsactly-witness" in the box

Thank You


Sort:  

Beautiful photographs and relevant texts. The stones of the sea have always seemed strange, mysterious, so full of stories. Each fold, depth, color, is the trace of time, but also of that sea that kisses them and leaves them. And it leaves them speechless and trembling in the middle of nowhere. Massiani's quoted text seems sublime to me as his novel and your poems are lights that spring from the page or from the sea. Thank you for sharing, @josemalavem

I appreciate your valuation and your poetic comment, @nancybriti. Stones carry with them the mystery of life, and more so if they are from the sea, the original substance. Greetings.

Beautiful combination of photography and poetry.
If it is true that "an image speaks loude than a thousand words", it is also true that poetry makes a thousand ideas emerge from an image.
I think that rocks provide the best metaphor for resiliency and beauty despite circumstances.

Thank you for your feedback, @hlezama. In truth, poetry and photography make a very good dialogue; I discovered it a few years ago, and I try to cultivate that vein of aesthetic realization.
This is a part of a larger work, of which I may deliver something more next time. Stones, rocks (as major formations), the sea and its other elements are real motifs that can stimulate our contemplation and poetic recreation.
Greetings.

@josemalavem, I strongly believe that Stones are art pieces and some stones really matches with our imagination and in some cases stones give birth to creative imagination.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very interesting your reflection, @chireerocks. The nature and the time go carving the multiple and curious forms and colors of the stones. And as you say, they become motifs and matter of our creation.

Your own words accompanying your photographs this time. And once again a post I could experience for hours.
The photographs are stunning, and your poems give me pause for thought. We are nothing but specks of chance born from dust sown carelessly (by who?) many thousands of years ago on rock. I love these poetry and stone pieces.

Very grateful again for your emotive commentary on my post. This time I accompanied it with only one poem of mine (although the previous post about the ruins also carried one of mine). I am happy that you like the photos and the poem, and that they generate in you those reflections. Greetings.

Hi, @adsactly!

You just got a 0.34% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hola adsactly,

Tu post ha sido seleccionado por el bot de @provenezuela, te hemos dado un voto en apoyo a los autores venezolanos!

Gracias por ser parte de nuestra comunidad!

Gracias, amigos de @provenezuela. Saludos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85