The Slit

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

image.png
This is called the Slit, it's probably got other nicknames but this one is fitting. It's basically a tiny crack on a red sandstone rock face that's been eroded over time by the water running through it.

This spot is found in the Subway Trail in Zion National Park in the State of Utah. A slow exposure to the running water creates this milk-like effect. So now it looks like milk is flowing through this slit instead of water.

It's a slippery hike to get to this spot and you'll need high traction boots or shoes if you don't want to fall on your A@@. Once you get past this section it's on the Subway, another red sandstone monument shaped by water erosion. I'll cover it in the future.

Have you been to Zion National Park?



GET UP TO 2X YOUR VOTE VALUE >> Steem Follower <<

GET MORE FOLLOWERS >> Steem Engine <<

https://steemit.com/steemit/@adonisabril/your-first-month-on-steemit-22-tips-to-help-you-succeed

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness." - Mark Twain

AlwaysWanderlust.com

All photos are taken and articles are written by yours truly unless otherwise stated.

Twitter Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Facebook Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Instagram Page, AlwaysWanderlust

© 2017 AlwaysWanderlust.com All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

It is an interesting view! I was wondering how did you shoot it standing above it, lol! Until I read your post and it made more sense! The play of your eyes and mind! :) May I ask what was the shutter speed and whether you have used a filter? Surely you did ;)

Of course! My favorite aperture setting is f8 (for sharpness) but on this, I had to slow down shutter so I knocked it down to f/22 and then shutter at 15 seconds for the milky water effect. Yes, I did use a filter, a polarizer (another 2 stops down) which I probably use with 85% of my photos :)

Only 2 stops down?! A lot of detail retained! I was thinking of investing in ND filter.
I like to shoot in f11 if in aperture mode :))
Without a filter, I can only get away with 4-6 secs.
Thank you for reply!

I have a variable ND filter that can do 16 stops...Expensive stuff that I hardly use :) Polarizer, f/22 seems to just do it for me and extremely convenient since I practically leave the Polarizer on my lenses.

Yeah, you rotate and it varies in stops :)

Oh, I am using it! I have never done the shutter speed photography with it though... I will try! Thank you for the tip! ;)

well done!

Photo is amazing! Thanks for sharing.

Nice pic. I couldn’t believe it as real. I’m eager to try slow exposure with flowing water.

Also, did you mean to say it looks like milk flowing through the slit instead of water?

Good, from my end it looks more like a smoke goshing down, lovely though

This post has received a 13.33 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @adonisabril. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

You got a 13.08% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @adonisabril! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 30.06% vote... I was summoned by @adonisabril! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

process that takes a long time to open up the water is really enormous congratulations on catching this moment👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69