Among the Ancients Under the Milky Way

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

fixedw_large_2x.jpg
The Standing Ancient and the Milky Way

Have you ever wondered how to shoot the milky way? I'm by no means an expert in Astrophotography but I'll share with how I got the shot above and the one below.

First and foremost, you would need a high ISO camera. Shooting the dark skies without the stars producing trails require exposures at under 30 seconds. After that, you might as well shoot for star trails.

Second, you need a very fast lens. Rokinon/Samyang makes super cheap primes that actually perform better for shooting the Milky Way than their more expensive counterpart. Check out the 14mm f/2.8 and the 24mm f/1.4

Third, you need a tripod or something to hold steady your camera for the long exposure.

Fourth, you need to find a spot with very low light pollution (away from the cities). The higher in elevation the better.

Fifth, you need to know when you are able to see the Milky Way. For this, you need tools like this: http://photoephemeris.com/ and this: http://stellarium.org/

Now you got the basics, let's shoot some galaxy!

For the shot above, I set the ISO at 3200 on my Sony A7ii and exposure at 15 seconds. I was using the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 at wide open and used my headlamp to manually focus on the tree as well as illuminate it during exposure. The tree, by the way, is probably thousands of years old. This is area is in the White Mountains where Ancient Bristlecone forest where you can find the Oldest Tree in the world (older than the Romans!)

fixedw_large_2x (1).jpg
Going After the Milky Way

For this next shot, it's again around 15 seconds. It isn't multiple shots and combined to one or layered in photoshop. It's just one shot with high ISO. I instructed my friend to strike a pose every few seconds and I would use the flashlight on him on every pose during exposure. The resulting image is this multiple shots of him on the frame.

I've just recently developed an interest in Astrophotography and learning the ropes as I go. Part of the joy is planning the shot and actually seeing the Milky Way with the naked eye!

DO YOU KNOW A GOOD SPOT FOR SEEING THE MILKY WAY?



GET UP TO 2X YOUR VOTE VALUE >> Steem Follower <<

GET MORE FOLLOWERS >> Steem Engine <<

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness." - Mark Twain

AlwaysWanderlust.com

All photos are taken and articles are written by yours truly unless otherwise stated.

Twitter Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Facebook Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Instagram Page, AlwaysWanderlust

© 2017 AlwaysWanderlust.com All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Beautiful images and amazing tips @adonisabril, a big thumbs up and a resteem from my side. thank you for sharing.

@adnanmengal liked Among the Ancients Under the Milky Way
the post of @adonisabril

Great Photo, I love to shoot astrophotography too. If you want you can check my profile for my last Star Trail photo

OMG!!!!!!!!
this is brilliant..one of the best shots i have seen so far..and thanks alot for sharing the guidelines with us..not all are generous like that :)

sir im still a beginner of the photography..can you please look into my photos and give me comment on the things that i should improve
https://steemit.com/nature/@steemclaira/the-shadows-behind-the-trees
https://steemit.com/nature/@steemclaira/a-journey-to-the-misty-land
thanks alot sir :)

That is so beautiful. Light polution is crap. We live way out in woods and we can get a pretty good look, but it is a shame that everyone can't see the stars...it would really help with perspective.

wow nice your post

Perfect photography. I like the guide, but it would be better if the tips were structured in a chart. By the way, what elevation was this shoot in?

Thank you for great artistic impression!

Yeah, I could do the chart, but like I said, I'm no expert. Once I have more experience shooting astrophotography I'll write a more in-depth guide :) It's about 11,000ft btw.

11,000ft is twice as much as is the height of the biggest mountain in my country. But one day, I will try to make such a photo. It looks great!

This post has received a 10.10 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @adonisabril. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84