Beauty in Darkness: AHS Themed Shoot

077C30EA-8B3E-4002-B36A-F307E9AAB98F.jpeg

Of course you’ve heard of American Horror Story (unless you live under a rock)!!

Me and a good photographer friend of mine, sir Fadi Ismail, did this fun shoot a few years back and, well, I think it’s great to reminisce wonderful collaborative works of art! All photo credits go to sir Fadi. I helped in the costume and make-up.

The photo set was inspired by the AHS season promotions for ‘Asylum’.

CF01ECF4-559D-4210-952C-D533F2D55E24.jpeg

We usually spend (literal) hours on shoots. Hours pour into putting on the costume, the make-up, finding the right spot, setting the lights, prepping the camera.

This case was really special. I had to try and not talk for almost an hour and a half. For those of you who know me, you know this is very difficult.

My face was coated with water-based paint, and we added the black trickle streaks later.

3B388479-B608-48AB-A935-FBE4DEF2BAA5.jpeg

At first, we had this smooth appearance. My face was matted with paint, and I had to stay still. That isn’t so hard, since I can hardly move at all. The things we do for what we love, am I right?!

4295B4DD-FCCE-4476-8A8D-6959272E0287.jpeg

Then, as were nearing the end of our shoot, the paint began to crack. The flawless coat was now riddled with partitions and branches. But we took this as an opportunity to keep on clicking away! There was something beautiful in the cracks. It’s revealing something underneath. An untold story, a stifled voice or an unseen force.

E126DDAB-2D48-4121-9604-D4A1E4E3CF12.jpeg

I was, and still am, totally in love with how it came out. Working with such a talented photographer is truly an honor and a privilege.

Sir Fadi is an amazing photographer, his skills as a digital artist and visual artist really play out in our shoots.

Hope you enjoyed this photo set just as much as we enjoyed doing it!

Sort:  

I like the last photo or is it just the dark tone background..😮

@greymonolith the last one is digitally enhanced! :) (and it has a dark tone haha)

What a creative mind you have :)

Thank you @luvabi! :) art keeps me alive!

Hey thats awesome work I'll follow you. I make masks check my steemit @jarradlevi

Hey awesome work @jarradlevi! Followed!

Your article is very good.
Thank you.

Very creative!

We did the same photography two years back as well. It was for a short film in our college. And of course nuns were involved, and blood, an unnerving plot twist and lots of fastforward type shots to create that specific AHS feels. We didnt win though but it was great to recreate it. I love Asylum then Coven then Freak Show. Hadnt seen Hotel and the succeding seasons after that.

Had to say, I am in awe with the quality of your work. While ours turned out fine, yours are amazing. We could see the powder used on the face for our work. As for your case, its highly exceptional. I will look for it and I will show you how ours went. It's way far off from the quality you guys did lol

Thank you! Of course this was post-processed as well. Videos are hard, so I’m pretty sure you guys did an awesome job as well! Thank you @josejirafa! :)

wow...awesome photography dear @adevaesparrago
your work is well you are very intellengt writer i hope your success is very soon?? Thank you i support you everytime but i want to you support me alltime thanks for this post,,
(((((Lastly, say a word, be good))))

Yay! It's nice to see you here in steemit :) More... more...#followed

Hello! Karon rata nagtagbo haha. :) it’s great to see familiar peeps here! Thank you! @gilnambatac!

Woah!!! That's awesome. Creepy and stunning at the same time.

What a great mind of yours! Thanks for sharing!

Followed you na po. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50