What's Plan C?

in #photography4 years ago

It's cancelled.

I had been gearing up for the first photoshoot of 2020. It was supposed to happen next week, but now it's been cancelled due to the novel coronavirus outbreak.

Social distancing is one of the ways we are protecting ourselves from passing the virus from person to person, but also not hanging out in crowds where one's chances of contracting the virus are raised.

From London's point of view, the public transport, especially London Underground, is the perfect setting for the virus to really spread. So in order to avoid that, we have mutually decided to cancel the shoot.

lena.jpg




WHAT NOW?

Well, we have a drastic change of plans don't we. I had a business plan relating to photographing people for their social media accounts and blogs, but that's now moved back. Hopefully by end of Summer, I might be able to start it up again. Or maybe not.

At least mine was still in the planning/booking stage. I have a friend who runs an Air B&B business who's now wondering how they're going to cope this year. Already, a wave of cancelations have come in of international bookings.

Another friend of mine runs a camping site. It used to be a farm, but it got converted into a camping site years ago as the family business. I haven't spoken to him about it yet, but I can imagine he's got cancellations too. He's in Kent, so many of his clients came from France and Belgium apparently. In theory, people from the UK should still be fine to go camping - all one has to do is drive down there. If anything, it'll be much safer than being in a city.

Another peculiar problem is that my friend is suffering from the #toiletPaperAppocalypse, as such is running critically low. He may need to add a "bring your own toilet paper" to his listing :)

As for me, I'm not sure what alternatives I have in terms of photographing people. I'd just have to wait this whole thing out I guess.

Peace and Love,

Adé

Sort:  

I am optimistic by nature but seeing all the doom, panic and unprecedented measures literally all over the world, I think the economic crisis that was just started will be worse than anything we have seen after the world wars (and possibly even before them). I would add "have a great weekend everyone" but that would sound too inappropriate and pathetic so let me just say "stay strong, healthy and sane everyone" :)

I fear the same. It seems too much like the doomsday post I made a few months ago where only Wakanda survived haha.

If we all come together, we can pull out of it quickly.

Yes... this is going to reek havoc on the tourism industry. Currently we are still in high season in guate... lots of people are stuck... lots of cancelations coming in... but also having extensions because nobody wants to risk getting stuck in transit so they are staying put.

Sorry to hear about the canceled photo shoot. Life is funny that way... just does what it does despite those of us that need to live in it. 🤣
Nobody can find any TP now... yet so often tp is used to decorate trees.
Lol... well decorate might me a stretch... but when i think of how many trees i covered in tp as a kid....of teachers I didnt like or just randoms. What a delinquent i was... think of all the butts that now must go without.

Oh yeah, you're on the front lines of the holiday thing. Maybe people will just keep extending through the crisis.

Good thing is you have a large water body nearby. People can revert to washing their bum bums the old way :D

I see in the news today there are plans to arrest people with coronavirus who are not self-isolating (how will they know)? and that people over 70 may be advised to self-isolate for four months (I wonder what happens when they all come out again, just as we are heading into winter).
At the moment we are on weekly review with the office shut down. I'm starting to think that I need to plan ahead for four months now, especially workwise. I hope the Steem community keep going, having that is going to help alot.

I heard about the four month isolation thing too. To be fair, many of these elderly people are already isolated as it is. As for the arrests, that's probably fake news. Where will they put them? Prison? Makes no sense.
Anyway, I hope it doesn't come to that.

But the end of all things has drawn near. Therefore be sober-minded and be sober unto prayers.(1 Peter 4:7)

Question from the Bible, What does the Bible Say About Tithing?

Watch the Video below to know the Answer...
(Sorry for sending this comment. We are not looking for our self profit, our intentions is to preach the words of God in any means possible.)


Comment what you understand of our Youtube Video to receive our full votes. We have 30,000 #SteemPower. It's our little way to Thank you, our beloved friend.
Check our Discord Chat
Join our Official Community: https://steemit.com/created/hive-182074

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30