The Camera Is Just The Tool

in #photography5 years ago

To be honest, I'm not 100% sure what camera or film I used on the day, but I do remember the day - those many winters ago, when I took these photos. It was during the time when I was super obsessed with trees and photographed them at every given opportunity.

With digital photos, you can usually check the EXIF data which will include the name of the camera used, and the exposure settings as well as the date. This is as long as the photos haven't been put through some editing software that changes the data in some way, or even remove it entirely.

03240006.JPG

One of my favourite trees in a mystery park in London. I photographed this tree for many years in different seasons


One of the best photographs I have ever taken was of this tree above. I don't have a digital version but I have the negatives. It was taken with a Praktica BX20 SLR on Lomography Lady Grey black and white film. It was a true black and white film with the silver emulsion. One day I will get around to scanning it, and sharing it on here.

03240001.JPG

I haven't decided which season is my favourite when it comes to trees. Summer, when they're lush, green and full is quite boring to be honest. With the exception of cherry blossoms, spring is also boring. Autumn and Winter are both amazing, and I can't figure out which I like more. The orange-brown and yellow-green leaves or the skeletal branches and stems both have their distinct kind of beauty.

03240002.JPG

I think how branches and stems grow on a tree reflect the natural movement in nature. There are so many things that follow this similar (apparently) random fractal pattern. Lightning does. Our blood vessels do too.

Anyhow, the overall point of this post is a different one. It is that while I don't remember what camera or film I used, I realise that it doesn't actually matter. I do, however, remember all the stuff that matters - like the experience of actually taking the photos and how I left on the day. I remember all that clearly like it was yesterday.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

This would have been a great GREEF blog, and the is nothing more beautifil to photograph nature when its changing from season to season

I really love the seasonal changes in trees.

What is GREEF? :)

Grief ( when you are sad 😬 you grieve ) sorry ,I love the first picture in black and white but it would also make a great treetuesday blog have a great weekend and sorry for the language error

Hahaha. I know what you mean now :)
Yes, it was quite a melancholic day as well.
Thanks for the comment and enjoy your weekend too.

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

Much appreciated <3

Hello adetorrent!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Beautiful photography

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80