Don't Steal Photos, Unsplash Them

in #photography6 years ago

I use only my own photos for blog posts here on the Steem Blockchain and in other places. I always have. There are times when I use screenshots, create comedic graphics, or reference other people's work by embedding a video or something like that of course, but that's a different matter.

I've been taking photos for a long time, and I take new photos every week mainly for fun. Sometimes I go out and specifically take photos for a blog post I'm writing, while other times I simply pick from my very large archive.

IMG_1916.jpg

Photo of my Pentax ME Super vintage SLR camera


Blog posts with attractive photos usually do better than those without. That's natural because we are attracted to beautiful images. Bloggers that don't know how to take beautiful photos, or can't afford to legally acquired them, have been at a disadvantage. Many have forgone using photos altogether or resulted to stealing photos.

I'm not going to go into the ins and outs of what is stealing and what's not. That's not the point of this post. If you've been looking for a way to acquire beautiful photos legally without worrying about violating the photographer's Intellectual Property rights, then I have a resource for you!

Unsplash!

You too can now create those beautiful blog posts with amazing photos taken by professional and enthusiast photographers, but provided for absolutely free to you. You are allowed to use these photos for whatever reason; personal or commercial. What's more? You don't even need to provide a reference or attribute the images in any way. So, you are free to pass them off as your own. Seriously.

In case you don't believe me, here is the license:

unsplash.png


See? As a thank you to the creators that contribute their work to this great resource though, I recommend you reference them so they get a little publicity.

And with this kind of resource, it's time to put an end to photography theft on Steemit don't you think?



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

excellent tip. thank you!

Yup! To add on to that, you can also use pexels.com for free and public domain photos, you don't have to make an account and they often provide an option for you to tip the creator. You also can select what do dimensions you want as well. Good on you for keeping rightsholders in mind

Posted using Partiko Android

These pics are great indeed - love their selection and have seen them used by many Steemians already! Totally brightens up the place if you ask me :-)

Interesting. Never heard of it. I’ll check it out.

It's amazing really. Free stuff :)

Wow!!! Some really beautiful looking photos on unsplash. I will start using photos from it and still definitely acknowledge the owners of the photos.

Gorgeous photography there definitely.

Hey that is a fantastic tip! Thanks for sharing as I had never heard of Unsplash.

I am always pleased with your publications and today much more, thanks to the suggestions. The subject of the photos to add to the posts is complicated when they are used if to consult if they are free to use or not. I try to use my photos in my publications, but sometimes I don't have the right ones and I look for the free ones. Your suggestion will make everything easier, thank you for this @adetorrent.

Aham ok I never used someone's work without credit it, but I didn't know about this unsplash. Yes we are attracted to pretty things, I can guess that's why girls do pretty well on the social media platforms :))

Posted using Partiko Android

hahahaha... :)

Thank you .

Thanks for the resource as I have been limited to using Pixabay and Pexels! I would continue to provide the references to the benefit of the authors.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48